Author Topic: Starbound  (Read 37047 times)

Offline Slinky

• Mappy Meowky
  • look on my works, ye mighty, and despair
    • View Profile
Re: Starbound
« Reply #390 on: October 02, 2014, 01:20:25 pm »
I've never played Terraria so maybe I just didn't know what to expect...?

Offline dndfreak

• Dragon Warrior Slime
  • The GM
    • View Profile
    • PathLosers
« Reply #391 on: November 08, 2015, 09:30:13 am »
So I started playing Starbound recently, for two reasons.

The first is that, when Starbound first launched, the toaster I was trying to play it on was, well, a toaster, and I was lucky to have more than three frames a second. So I sort of saw what it was about when it first 'released', but never really experienced it.

The second reason is that, back then, I really wanted to have more sandbox-y games to play with. I had zero interest in gameplay and really just wanted to build stuff. Terraria (and by extension, Starbound) was an action platformer with crafting elements, lacking the equivalent of Minecraft's creative mode without the use of TEdit. But since then, I've gotten more used to metroidvania styled gameplay and I wanted to give Starbound a chance with the right frame of mind. Terraria at times wasn't sure what it was, whether it wanted to focus on the creative freedom of block placement, the vania combat or the Diablo loot mechanics. Starbound, however, knows damn well from the ground up that the focus is combat and everything else is window dressing. I want to approach this game, now, with the mindset it deserves.