Author Topic: Zero memory of the physics and fluid engines in spore  (Read 12313 times)

Offline mccarty181

• Tempest Top Dog
  • yes I have a thing for rodents...so what
    • View Profile
Zero memory of the physics and fluid engines in spore
« on: October 19, 2006, 12:08:14 pm »
Recent information as of today of the recent stream found by happydan20 has shown that "The physics and fluid engines breaks all the rules and doesn't take any memory at all". Does anyone here have at all the slightest idea how they did that. I know they have the amazing code writers but how will it function, soley on the processor, virtual memory, or some kind of offsite networking/internet capability. Ideas?

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Offline Smith987

• Pong Paddle
    • View Profile
Re: Zero memory of the physics and fluid engines in spore
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2006, 01:01:16 pm »
I'm not a computer expert, so I don't have a clue how it can work without memory. Maybe it's proof of Will Wright & co.'s godly powers :)

Is this a stupid question or can it somehow run directly off of the cd?
"I don't like being outdoors Smithers, for one thing, there's too many fat children." Mr. Burns- The Simpsons

Offline Yossitaru

• SunDog Pilot
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2006, 01:12:26 pm »
I've been wondering the same thing all day, about the not needing memory bit. I don't even see how it's even possible, since even the simplest calculations require some memory to even store the numbers. I am just a programming student at the moment, and whatever they are doing is probably well over my head.

As for running off the CD, it wouldn't make much a difference as far as making the calculations for the engine results, since the numbers need to be stored somewhere. Since once a CD is burned (non-RWs) nothing can be written to the disc, so the game would still need the computer's resources to run.
Virus Buster.

Offline mccarty181

• Tempest Top Dog
    • View Profile