Author Topic: DS Browser Import Friendly?  (Read 3555 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline krazyman

  • Microvision Master
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • The Real Master Chief
    • View Profile
DS Browser Import Friendly?
« on: September 05, 2006, 07:52:56 pm »
Hey guys, I was thinking of importing the DS opera browser from Japan.  Has anyone does this?  If so, please tell me if it is easy to understand.  Thanks  ;D



Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28788
  • M I RITE? STICKERS?
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2006, 08:01:17 pm »
None of their software or hardware is region locked, however it will probably NOT have any language options... but that should not matter much.


I doubt anyone here has done it. Do it and tell us.


Sorry I had no help to offer you.

 :)

Offline PHI-1618

  • Star Wars Padawan
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2006, 08:47:23 am »
a) The original DS hardware from Japan can be switched to display English as its primary language, so there's a chance the browser might offer the same functionality.
b) I have read reviews of the browser saying that it actually isn't that great. The stylus usage is nice, but the DS really isn't built for handling the severely taxing downloading from certain websites so it's very, very slow. If that doesn't bother you, that's great. But I think it's worth knowing.

Offline krazyman

  • Microvision Master
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • The Real Master Chief
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2006, 08:13:09 pm »
Yeah, I know that I has loading times and is worse than the PSP one... oh well, I just want a portable device that has this ability.  I'll b sure to post about it once I get it.

Offline Fink

  • Elevator Action Operator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2595
  • I have more stars than you
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2006, 08:59:05 pm »
What will the DS use for cache? I know that when I used my old PSP to look at pics it would run out really fast

Offline krazyman

  • Microvision Master
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • The Real Master Chief
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2006, 05:47:16 am »
You use the GBA slot for ram expansion.

"The Nintendo DS Browser in Japan comes in two flavors; the packs are virtually identical in content except for the RAM expansion pack that plugs directly into the Game Boy Advance cartridge slot of the Nintendo DS system. There's a version for all Nintendo DS systems, and a version made for the DS Lite - since GBA carts don't sit flush in the DS Lite, if you've got an updated system, the DS Lite edition of the browser's the one you want."

That is from the IGN review.

Offline Fink

  • Elevator Action Operator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2595
  • I have more stars than you
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2006, 12:22:07 pm »
How much more does it add?

Offline krazyman

  • Microvision Master
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • The Real Master Chief
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2006, 06:02:06 pm »
I am not sure, I can not find out how much anywhere.  I will post if I find out.  My guess would be less than 10mb probably less than 5mb

Offline krazyman

  • Microvision Master
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • The Real Master Chief
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2006, 06:01:36 am »
Sorry for the double post, but I just wanted to update people that I have decided not to buy it.  My friend who was in Japan couldn't find it easily so I told them just froget it.  I know I can buy it off a import site, but it is probably more expensive there, plus after all the negatives I have heard about it, I have changed my mind.  Maybe if they release a updated one with flash and faster loading times, I might look into it.

Offline Fink

  • Elevator Action Operator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2595
  • I have more stars than you
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2006, 12:17:23 pm »
Yeah, hand helds don't make good web browsers.

Anyway, about your double post, I know you did it so that it would flag as new. However, if you edit the last post in the topic it will do the same thing. So you don't need to double post

Yeah, took me a while to figure it out too  :)

Offline Lualmoba

  • Zaxxon Zealot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2006, 06:24:34 pm »
Well, he should actually make a new post and add what he said on the old one and then delete the old one. That way it will go to the top and get the "new" flag.

Offline Vivec

  • Gauntlet Wizard
  • *****
  • Posts: 4885
  • The truth has vanished into darkness...
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2006, 06:23:23 pm »
I know you did it so that it would flag as new. However, if you edit the last post in the topic it will do the same thing (flag as new)

Well, he should actually make a new post and add what he said on the old one and then delete the old one. That way it will go to the top and get the "new" flag.

Someone didn't read before posting.

Someone didn't read what Lualmoba actually wrote.
Vivec, you're the best forum member ever.

Offline Lualmoba

  • Zaxxon Zealot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
    • View Profile
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2006, 05:27:00 pm »
Yes, but first of all, notice that I acknowledged his post, and second of all I am telling him another way to do it which I consider to be better.

Either way, this discussion is not really related to the topic.

Offline DarkAngel

  • Akalabeth Addict
  • **
  • Posts: 182
  • Sherrif of the south pacific
    • View Profile
    • My PC
Re: DS Browser Import Friendly?
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2006, 07:02:18 pm »
no, its not related at all so im gonna delete my posts as they're not adding anything useful... :-[

This post will self destruct in 10 seconds...
« Last Edit: December 13, 2006, 07:04:17 pm by DarkAngel »