Author Topic: The Orkulo  (Read 2123 times)

Offline Didero

• Turkey Shoot Terminator
    • View Profile
The Orkulo
« on: May 01, 2006, 11:42:22 am »
The Orkulo

Before and after becoming sentient, respectively (not that good drawings, I'm not that good at drawing...) (click for full size) :

Non-sentient
The non-sentient Orkulo had no eyes, because the planet they lived on was then rather far away from their sun, so the planet was too dark for eyes to be useful. They relied more on their large ears, and their 4 nostrils, 2 on each head. The two heads were equally developed. The, rather small, brain was in neither of the heads, it was actually inside the belly. The mouth was on the bottom of the belly, to be able to eat grass and plants while still being able to look around for danger. Because it had two heads it could see almost everything around it, but they couldn't move that fast, so they were still often caught by the predators of the planet.
Their skin was dark brown, almost black, to catch as much heat of the sun as possible.

Becoming sentient
They were almost going extinct when a big asteroid hit the planet, and the force of the collision was big enough to push the homeplanet of the Orkulo in an orbit closer to their sun. The Orkulo survived the changed natural circumstances because it adapted faster then the predator of the planet. At this moment the Orkulo started to grow bigger, their skincolor got a little lighter, they got two legs extra to support their grown body, and they developed two eyes on each of their two heads, one big eye that they use when they focus their on that head, and a small one to still be able to see the other way while not being bothered by that image too much. Their 'active' head uses both eyes, to get some depth perception.