Author Topic: Civ4 - C2C Mod  (Read 38680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #90 on: May 08, 2013, 04:48:54 pm »
Caveman 2 Cosmos v30 came out today!

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #91 on: July 13, 2013, 01:36:57 pm »
Caveman 2 Cosmos v31 came out today! There is so much new stuff this cycle. We were very productive. One of my favorite new features is more in depth city siege. We also have a lot more Late Modern and Trans-Human Era buildings. Here are just some of the new features. There are more thing but the guy has not updated the list since June 20th.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #92 on: August 12, 2013, 11:16:43 pm »
Caveman 2 Cosmos v32 came out today! Normally we do it every other month or so but we have had so much new stuff and some much needed bug fixes that the new version is out now a month after the last release. Enjoy!

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #93 on: September 23, 2013, 12:48:37 pm »
Caveman 2 Cosmos v33 came out today! There is so much new stuff especially in the Transhuman era! The era is worth reaching now.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #94 on: February 26, 2014, 04:37:21 pm »
Its be a long cycle but we finally have released Caveman to Cosmos v34. There is too much to mention but its the biggest release we have had with 6 months worth of work.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 04:59:24 pm by Hydromancerx »

Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28788
  • M I RITE? STICKERS?
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #95 on: February 26, 2014, 04:47:22 pm »
IT'S BE JAMON!!

Offline Slinky

  • Mr. Do! Disciple
  • *****
  • Posts: 2157
  • hey there
    • View Profile
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #96 on: February 27, 2014, 08:18:04 am »
It's be don't worry mon

Be happy

This site has much subjkect I am interested in

Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28788
  • M I RITE? STICKERS?
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #97 on: February 27, 2014, 11:08:51 am »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJQcJBjObEc" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJQcJBjObEc</a>

Offline Kenotai

  • Krull Slayer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2375
  • Wint firinoint vai.
    • View Profile
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #98 on: April 30, 2014, 11:45:03 am »
I made a game and played for several hours, now the save doesn't load. It loads the mod and then fails at the loading screen for the save. I am really gonna go out on a limb here and assume that isn't by design.
Visit, Vote, Vykusi - New Poll 9/01/08


Quote from: Little
I, for a fact, quite like Keno[tai]. He's my favorite.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #99 on: April 30, 2014, 11:52:40 am »
Well first off if you have any problems lease post them in our Bugs and Crashes sub-forum. Second what kind of setting did you have it at? Like how big was your map, how many other civs did you have, what's the strength of your computer? C2C is a HUGE mod not made for weaker computers if you have higher settings. And even then it will stress out even normal computers.

Offline Kenotai

  • Krull Slayer
  • *****
  • Posts: 2375
  • Wint firinoint vai.
    • View Profile
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #100 on: April 30, 2014, 11:58:49 am »
It's a pretty high end computer, lots of ram big hard drive, higher end GCs. I can't remember the name of the size but it was the third from biggest (after having the biggest not go at all and 2nd largest crash when opening an adviser). And I had 20 civs with barbarian world turned on (which I guess means 40 cities but a filled map should have a lot more). A detail I also forgot to mention is that this is the first time I tried to load this save, it isn't like I was able to load it before and it stopped working, and I have had several working games before, at this world size even.

e: Well after reading a bit it seems that having a large map with even 20 civs is too many, even a great comp probably won't load it. Sorry, it also appears to be an intrinsic limitation from Civ IV's base game.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2014, 12:34:29 pm by Kenotai »
Visit, Vote, Vykusi - New Poll 9/01/08


Quote from: Little
I, for a fact, quite like Keno[tai]. He's my favorite.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #101 on: August 17, 2014, 01:23:51 pm »
Caveman to Cosmos v35 came out today! Lots of changes, additions and fixes. See the change log for details.  :D

Offline Brandonazz

  • Baseball SuperStar
  • *****
  • Posts: 8885
  • Hoc etiam transibit
    • View Profile
    • My Internet Treasure Trove
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #102 on: August 17, 2014, 03:01:59 pm »
Have you done any more work on optimization? I like the mod a lot but can never finish a game without my well-spec'd computer throwing a fit.

Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28788
  • M I RITE? STICKERS?
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #103 on: August 17, 2014, 03:07:11 pm »
This is important.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12387
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Civ4 - C2C Mod
« Reply #104 on: August 18, 2014, 03:33:05 am »
Have you done any more work on optimization? I like the mod a lot but can never finish a game without my well-spec'd computer throwing a fit.

I personally have not done much, however other on the C2C Team have. Specially in the area of leaderheads being removed from the mod and made available as an add-on download instead of in the core. In addition sparth went though just about all the art to optimize them. From icon/button uniformity to reducing the file size of textures. Even removing unused art.

In comparison the download for v35 is 716.42mb and v34 was 1,422.78mb. While still huge compared to other mods we have basically halved the size of the mod by optimizing the art and removing extra leaderheads.

One C2C regular said ...

"Before the game started with MAF's at 1.8GB memory usage and after you removed them at 2.2GB used memory. After that sparth cleaned all the artfiles and we can now go up to 2.6GB used memory. That is why i'am against adding anything with lots of artfiles." - alberts2

Hope this helps answer your question.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2014, 03:34:51 am by Hydromancerx »