Author Topic: GA Problems!  (Read 20009 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DaMuncha

  • Lode Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2248
  • GREAT SCOTTS!
    • View Profile
Re: More Spore Problems :D
« Reply #15 on: June 26, 2009, 05:53:56 pm »
Nope. never had that problem. looks like those creatures arnt dowloading, since that creature icon IS the creature.

Since the GA patch (no GA yet for me), I started the Space Phase, and the tutorial mission to drop an infected animal was nearly impossible... the beaming down of the animal would send it far off screen, nowhere near the city that was targeted by my ship's transporter.  ???

Yeah I ran into that today. I was on a mission to kill infected creatures, and none of them would die. No matter what weapon I chose. Then I tried teleporting a creature onto the planet, and it nothing happened, and it flew off, then i tried another creature and that hung in that air in the exact same way that bricks dont.

gec05

  • Guest
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2009, 12:27:28 pm »
Maxis needs to fix building collision. I get my captains spawning in floors, NPCs are too stupid to walk on a relatively stable surface, and epics walking over skyscrapers than around them.

Offline DaMuncha

  • Lode Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2248
  • GREAT SCOTTS!
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2009, 05:24:56 am »
Ok, a bug im getting is that stupid message "download robot chicken adventures" keeps popping up while im loading a game or editors, and my game crashes. and every time I go back to the galaxy screen it pops up making me click it off, which bugs the crap out of me.
---

But yeah, its been realy hard trying to build my map of Stoneship with all the gang ways and rope bridges around the place because my captain keeps falling through the floors. And the building editor has no ship parts so im having to build a ship out of building parts (I'v done a pretty good job on that, but took me ages). Its either that or use a ship that I've made with the vehicle editor, problem is in the adventure my captain cant get anywhere near the ship because the the game wonrt allow him to.

I couldnt make the rocket the way I wanted with teh building editor, it just looks like crap. So iv made it with the land vehicle editor. Problem is for sum reaon it constantly floats a few hypondrian feet off the ground, no matter what I do it wont touch the ground. same with cars and other vehicles.

I'm feeling like a BETA tester again.

Why doesnt EA BETA test thier own software, I mean theyve had 8 months to do it.

Offline Prok

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2009, 06:24:02 am »
Whenever I try to play an adventure I haven't tried yet - even a Maxis one - a box comes up saying "Downloading Adventure creations" or something like that and it doesn't go away until I hit cancel.  Then I have to pick the adventure again to play it.  From then on, some of the adventures work, and some don't. 

The ones that don't work, I get boxes telling me something along the lines of "Adventure creations download failed" or "Some creations are missing - will substitute these creations".  Then I hit OK or whatever to make the message go away and it goes right back to the adventure selection screen.  Whenever I try to play these adventures, the same thing happens over and over again so I can't play them.

Anyone else having this problem / knows how to fix it?

Offline martyk

  • Simon Belmont
  • *****
  • Posts: 5333
  • Never underestimate the power of dolphin!
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2009, 06:28:33 am »
Whenever I try to play an adventure I haven't tried yet - even a Maxis one - a box comes up saying "Downloading Adventure creations" or something like that and it doesn't go away until I hit cancel.  Then I have to pick the adventure again to play it.  From then on, some of the adventures work, and some don't. 

The ones that don't work, I get boxes telling me something along the lines of "Adventure creations download failed" or "Some creations are missing - will substitute these creations".  Then I hit OK or whatever to make the message go away and it goes right back to the adventure selection screen.  Whenever I try to play these adventures, the same thing happens over and over again so I can't play them.

Anyone else having this problem / knows how to fix it?

Perhaps if you're having trouble with some creations missing from adventures, you should stop cancelling when it's trying to download those creations and let it finish.  Just a thought.
Quote from: Doctor Zay
Martyk is a handsome fish.
Quote from: Brandonazz
This dolphin is delicious.
Quote
<Sgore> Martyk, mentally I always picture you as like, our forums bartender.
<Neoadept> I've always pictured you trapped in a tuna net

Offline Prok

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2009, 07:18:49 pm »
Good thought, but I tried that several times and it never stops downloading!  I left it for up to fifteen minutes once and the box was still up and my internet connection was working fine.

Offline Crazen

  • Space Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 2998
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2009, 08:11:22 pm »
another query: how do you make epics?
Quote from: SimplyNecro
No capitalization......

Crazen!


Offline Grazony

  • Simon Belmont
  • *****
  • Posts: 5333
  • I am not spying on you.
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2009, 08:26:20 pm »
Shift+Mouse wheel= Epic anything even buildings or baby size anything.

You'll never know why.
<_< \[ ◕O ◕]/ >_>
Son, I have seen some unbelievable things in my time, but I have never seen a Texan with a robotic chainsaw fist kill a gun-slinging dinosaur by punching it in the head. ~The Soldier

Offline DaMuncha

  • Lode Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2248
  • GREAT SCOTTS!
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2009, 09:37:52 pm »
I wonder if Maxis is reading this thread.

Offline Beatnuki

  • Scramble Skipper
  • ****
  • Posts: 686
  • Wilco Hex, reporting for duty!
    • View Profile
    • Beatnuki's Chunk of Funk (which seemed like a good idea at the time)
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2009, 03:45:06 am »
Whenever I try to play an adventure I haven't tried yet - even a Maxis one - a box comes up saying "Downloading Adventure creations" or something like that and it doesn't go away until I hit cancel.  Then I have to pick the adventure again to play it.  From then on, some of the adventures work, and some don't. 

The ones that don't work, I get boxes telling me something along the lines of "Adventure creations download failed" or "Some creations are missing - will substitute these creations".  Then I hit OK or whatever to make the message go away and it goes right back to the adventure selection screen.  Whenever I try to play these adventures, the same thing happens over and over again so I can't play them.

Anyone else having this problem / knows how to fix it?

That box is actually supposed to come up.  ;) That's the game telling you it's got the adventure but not the components, characters, buildings etc. to fully run it yet, and that it's scurrying off to the internet to find them. I fully agree that when it fails it's pretty annoying though, but sometimes if I try it again later on the same adventure it will work because it's already got a lot of the components from its last attempt.

It'd be useful if that box had a progress bar though. That way it'd be easier to see how far it's through doing what it's doing, instead of watching the little spinny galaxy thing.
If you peruse my things, you get POINTS!
http://www.spore.com/view/profile/Beatnuki

Only trouble is, they're Whose Line Is It Anyway points, which are infamously not worth anything.

Offline DaMuncha

  • Lode Runner
  • *****
  • Posts: 2248
  • GREAT SCOTTS!
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2009, 06:17:38 am »
When I'm selecting an adventure, or a captain, or is sumwhere in that menu system. Spore keeps quitign back to the Galactic Adventure root menu.

I download or select a mission to play, then I sele...  it quits back to the root menu.

Offline Beatnuki

  • Scramble Skipper
  • ****
  • Posts: 686
  • Wilco Hex, reporting for duty!
    • View Profile
    • Beatnuki's Chunk of Funk (which seemed like a good idea at the time)
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #26 on: June 30, 2009, 10:51:16 am »
When I'm selecting an adventure, or a captain, or is sumwhere in that menu system. Spore keeps quitign back to the Galactic Adventure root menu.

I download or select a mission to play, then I sele...  it quits back to the root menu.

I've got that one too, it's REALLY frustrating. Tends to make me click something quickly or just stick to the Random button.
If you peruse my things, you get POINTS!
http://www.spore.com/view/profile/Beatnuki

Only trouble is, they're Whose Line Is It Anyway points, which are infamously not worth anything.

Offline Miclee

  • Donkey Kong King
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #27 on: July 01, 2009, 10:54:16 am »
Got GA, but it won't work!  >:(
I'm on Vista, and when I go to start GA, it shows the black screen for a few seconds, and then crashes.
The error seems to be this(found it in the exception report):
ACCESS_VIOLATION reading address 0x00000000


Anybody know how to fix this??  :'(

Offline Plank of Wood

  • Final Fighter
  • *****
  • Posts: 8424
  • Ka-Boom!
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #28 on: July 01, 2009, 10:57:29 am »
Have you tried starting from the SporeApp?
the real saviour of this forum

Offline Miclee

  • Donkey Kong King
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
    • View Profile
Re: GA Problems!
« Reply #29 on: July 01, 2009, 11:08:10 am »
Yes, I have. It's making me really annoyed.