Author Topic: Prototype (PC)  (Read 14395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Uroboros

  • Duck Hunter
  • *****
  • Posts: 3060
  • Am I awake?
    • View Profile
Prototype (PC)
« on: June 11, 2009, 01:21:26 pm »
http://cdn.prototypegame.com/prototype/us/index.html

Against my better judgement, I preordered a game that was to be released on the PC at the same time as on the 360.
Maybe THIS port won't be ridiculously bugged, after all, its dual release!
Oh how I was wrong.

Straight from installing, all cutscenes lag, the audio is filled with abnormal amounts of 'grain', and is strangely surpressed (with all my software-side volumes maxed, and my speakers maxed, I get normal playback volume... barely). The game starts out smooth but looking a touch sub-par at first, and then grinded to a halt with sudden, cumulative bombs of graphical lag. A quick google revealed that lo and behold, they shipped the PC game with a mass-encountered set of screw-ups. Like the game refusing to detect your video card... and requiring that you disable audio acceleration... and that you don't use the V-sync graphic option... and that you remove all but the necessary HID's from your device manager list... and that you alter your default playback sample-rate... I mean FFS how the hell did this stuff get past beta testing?

The game could be promising, but i'll have to wait until I can actually play the damned thing before I can remark on that. Technically I could struggle onwards having been forced to skip some important scene-and-story setting cinematics, and just wait for the next payload of lagspikes and grainy audio to kick in, but why bother? I'll just sit back and wonder why on earth people pirate games so much, whilst they no doubt take their sweet time in releasing a patch to make it reasonably playable. Assuming they don't do something similar to what happened with the Saints Row 2 port, where you only get mono audio unless you disable sound acceleration and call that a 'fix'. You know, like when you tell a dealer the brand new car you just bought can't seem to roll its windows down, and they say "its fine, just use the sunroof! FIXED!!1".

Buggeration, I can't believe I actually paid for a full-price new release and thought it would turn out well.



Offline DarkDragon

  • Final Fantasy Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 6501
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 01:37:12 pm »
Don't blame the game, I've been playing for 12+ hours so far and not one single crash or lag at all, all the videos work fine, the only problem I've had is the cutscene sounds being a bit low even when my speakers are on max but I can hear it fine so I can't really complain.

Update drivers, update DirectX to the latest build, etc, etc

IMHO this is one of the best "ports" I've seen lately.

(My PC isn't even a top-end rig, I mean I can run Crysis, etc all maxed out but it's like half a year old and it wasn't the best of the best when I bought it either)
« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 01:39:13 pm by DarkDragon »
DarkDragon's Minecraft Survival Server (use this as the IP):

gamingsteve.dyndns.org

- The server uses a whitelist, if you're not on the whitelist (can't connect), PM me your minecraft name.

Offline Magenti

  • Zork Emperor
  • ****
  • Posts: 504
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 01:47:11 pm »
Not one error so far, NONE. Runs brilliantly.
Quote
I love you Magenti, you are my hero!!
Kenobros confession!
Quote from: Kenobro on October 06, 2009, 01:41:48 PM
I suppose it's funny that you posted after me, because you are also female.  How coincidental.

Offline Veraal

  • Zelda Zealot
  • *****
  • Posts: 5926
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2009, 01:49:21 pm »
I can't wait to play this.

Offline Celdur

  • R-Type Force Pod
  • *****
  • Posts: 6615
  • :33
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2009, 01:50:15 pm »
thats the 2nd time a thread was made for a game that already existed in the console forum >.>

this time with better reason though...

anyway...whats up with all the screwups in sandbox games lately? i remember a time when this 'genre' was pc exlusive you hairy console chumps >.>

Quote from: Krakow sam
That quote is actualy very witty, Celdur. I suggest you use that in your signature.

Offline Veraal

  • Zelda Zealot
  • *****
  • Posts: 5926
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2009, 01:53:08 pm »
Sandbox games have always existed from what I recall...

Offline The_Kev

  • Joust Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
    • View Profile
    • Fear Productions
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2009, 01:55:50 pm »
I didn't experienced any problems.
The only thing that bothers me though is that my screen resolution isn't found or something... It goes up to something like 1280x800 or whatever but I need 1280x1024...

I now play it on 1024x768. :(

And wtf Anti-Aliasing max to 2x?? :(
"When my strength is your weakness, I'll become fearless." - Fear

Proud owner of:

Offline Xenomorph

  • Balloon Fight Aerialist
  • *****
  • Posts: 4463
  • ....
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2009, 02:07:34 pm »
almost EVERYTHING can be fixed. Check the official Activision forums:

http://forums.activision.com/viewforum.php?f=47

now stop whining and start fixing. then continue consuming  ;)
"Apply layers to Reality
Things only you can see
Add a beat to Normality
To tap the core of Insanity"

Offline DarkDragon

  • Final Fantasy Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 6501
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2009, 02:42:42 pm »
I didn't experienced any problems.
The only thing that bothers me though is that my screen resolution isn't found or something... It goes up to something like 1280x800 or whatever but I need 1280x1024...

I now play it on 1024x768. :(

And wtf Anti-Aliasing max to 2x?? :(

Aparently it doesn't support any resolution that isn't a 4:3 variation.

Also, my AA goes up to 4x <.<
DarkDragon's Minecraft Survival Server (use this as the IP):

gamingsteve.dyndns.org

- The server uses a whitelist, if you're not on the whitelist (can't connect), PM me your minecraft name.

Offline Uroboros

  • Duck Hunter
  • *****
  • Posts: 3060
  • Am I awake?
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2009, 02:52:15 pm »
almost EVERYTHING can be fixed. Check the official Activision forums:

http://forums.activision.com/viewforum.php?f=47

now stop whining and start fixing. then continue consuming  ;)
Oh, you mean those very things I listed on the OPENING POST that didn't solve my problems?
But yeah, its just pointless whining if the game slows to a crawl on a system that can happily eat Unreal 3 (graphically), and anything but the opening cutscene is a slideshow with gravel-on-a-chalkboard for audio, right?

Offline /lurk

  • Dragon Warrior Slime
  • *****
  • Posts: 5251
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2009, 03:36:01 pm »
thats the 2nd time a thread was made for a game that already existed in the console forum >.>

this time with better reason though...

anyway...whats up with all the screwups in sandbox games lately? i remember a time when this 'genre' was pc exlusive you hairy console chumps >.>

Tch, yeah, if you can call them sandbox games.

I can't.
Not a winner anymore.

Offline Gungnir

  • SunDog Pilot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3355
  • Bbrrrraaaaaiiiiinnnnssss
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2009, 08:18:12 pm »
They just have large maps.

Offline DarkDragon

  • Final Fantasy Fanatic
  • *****
  • Posts: 6501
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2009, 08:38:06 pm »
almost EVERYTHING can be fixed. Check the official Activision forums:

http://forums.activision.com/viewforum.php?f=47

now stop whining and start fixing. then continue consuming  ;)
Oh, you mean those very things I listed on the OPENING POST that didn't solve my problems?
But yeah, its just pointless whining if the game slows to a crawl on a system that can happily eat Unreal 3 (graphically), and anything but the opening cutscene is a slideshow with gravel-on-a-chalkboard for audio, right?

We're not saying that, we're just saying it's a problem on your end since it seems to work just fine for almost everyone else.

Some people have reported that installing the DirectX that comes with the game solved their issues.
DarkDragon's Minecraft Survival Server (use this as the IP):

gamingsteve.dyndns.org

- The server uses a whitelist, if you're not on the whitelist (can't connect), PM me your minecraft name.

Offline Uroboros

  • Duck Hunter
  • *****
  • Posts: 3060
  • Am I awake?
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2009, 08:56:49 pm »
It seems you took my retort to an obnoxious remark about whining too seriously :P

Offline Veraal

  • Zelda Zealot
  • *****
  • Posts: 5926
    • View Profile
Re: Prototype (PC)
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2009, 12:30:55 pm »
Well, gets kinda boring after a while, like left 4 dead.

Really awesome at the start, extremely dull after a while.