Author Topic: Laptop Specifications  (Read 1934 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline benjaminge

  • Galaxian Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • He said it, not me.
    • View Profile
Laptop Specifications
« on: September 23, 2008, 02:31:59 am »
Hi everyone

I'm looking to buy a new laptop, and instead of going though all the "will this laptop run spore" topics, I figured i'd just ask what laptops people are playing spore on, what the specs are and how well they run the game.

Thanks for any help :)


Apparently the warning "do not try this at home" really means "do not try this at all"... no one told ME!!!!

Offline Martham112

  • Dig Dug Digger
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
    • View Profile
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 01:39:00 pm »
There a website that can tell you.

www.canyourunit.com

Hmm...wait. That'll tell you if the computer you're using it on will run it. Nevermind.

PS. Yes, the site looks like it's called "Can your unit", but it's actually called "Can you run it?"

Offline Blulightning

  • Bezerk Brawler
  • ****
  • Posts: 575
  • Radioactive Kitty!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 02:35:10 pm »
My laptop has:
Windows XP,
Intel Dual Core 2.0 Ghz processor,
1 GB RAM,
Nvidia 7900 GS Gforce Go,
and a 7200 RPM hard drive.

Spore runs perfectly on it, at any settings.
Except for when I'm fighting other ships in the space phase... when multiple ships start blowing up at the same time, the framerate drops dramatically for a second, even on low settings.
Blowing up multiple ships at the same time happens a lot, too, if you ever bother to stop pirate attacks.

I'm not sure if this slow down is normal, but I think a patch will eventually optimize the explosions and get rid of the framerate problem. Or maybe I need more RAM...

Edit: Oh yeah, and I play at a mind-boggling 1900x1200 resolution.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 02:46:26 pm by Blulightning »

Offline I Have Corn

  • Atari Combat Vet
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • I Have Corn
    • View Profile
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 03:12:27 pm »
I play Spore on a laptop that I have to play at low :(, and my laptop is very low spec, so although you may not think this helps you, I can tell you that this laptop is the very bare minimum you can run spore on, so any laptop even marginally better would run it.

I run Spore all low setting and 800x600 res :( my pc is a Dell Inspiron 1520 and the specs are as follows:-

Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit
1GB ram
Intel Celeron 1.86GHz
Integrated Mobile Intel 965 Express Family Chipset usually around 250mb, 252mb on a good day.

Yes... I wonder how I play it at times aswell. :P

Offline TDKenyon

  • Battlezone Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
    • Neu Age
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2008, 08:07:18 pm »
Asus F3Sv-A1:
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T7300 2.0G
GFX: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS
Video Memory: Built-in 256MB VRAM Turbo Cache 512M with 1G Memory, Turbo Cache 1G with 2G Memory
RAM: 2GB DDR2 667

Playing on mostly full graphics at 1440x900 (sometimes my computer lags with completely full, I'm not sure why, I can play Oblivion on 100% at the same resolution, so I just turn some low to prevent the occasional lagging).

@I Have Corn
Miraculous.

Offline benjaminge

  • Galaxian Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • He said it, not me.
    • View Profile
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 03:50:53 am »
thanks for that guys, pretty sure the laptop i just ordered should be just fine :)
Apparently the warning "do not try this at home" really means "do not try this at all"... no one told ME!!!!

Offline TDKenyon

  • Battlezone Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
    • Neu Age
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 08:58:39 am »
Do you have the specs for us?

Offline plastik

  • Asteroids Aficionado
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2008, 01:19:29 pm »
My laptop is:
Vista Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz
2GB RAM
Intel GMA X1300 graphics (~256MB, not entirely sure)

The game runs fairly well, definitely playable except at huge resolutions.

Offline LoneStarSage

  • Video Pinball Wizard
  • *
  • Posts: 84
  • A true modern hero
    • View Profile
    • The Spore Group
Re: Laptop Specifications
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2008, 01:34:28 pm »
I am running it on this

Vista Ultimate 64 bit (so yep it is fine with 64 bit version)
Intel Core 2 duo 2.5Ghz
Nvidia 8600m GS graphics card
and 4 GB of RAM

I am actually sending this machine back today to exchange it for an almost identical machine that will have a little faster processor (2.53Ghz, wow, lol) and better graphics card, Nvidia 9600m GT.  I have my fingers crossed that there will be no conflicts with that card.   Will try to find this thread when I get the machine (could be several weeks) and let y'all know.  Oh, I am not exchanging it for any problems with Spore.  It runs great.  I just want better performance for Crysis, Assassin's Creed and the like which run on medium settings now.