Author Topic: Space Stage Display Problem  (Read 1652 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nincodedo

  • Pong Paddle
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Space Stage Display Problem
« on: September 18, 2008, 08:47:56 pm »
I was playing the Space stage for about 3 hours and everything was working fine, Then at some point when I left a planet, the galaxy and stars areas displayed a black screen. I can still land on planets and those work fine, but the galaxy portions do not. I tried a new game to see if it was my saved data. Same problem. I uninstalled Spore and reinstalled it. Same problem. I installed the recent patch. Still not fixed. Here is a screenshot of what it looks like...

http://nincodedo.googlepages.com/spore_space.png

The rest of the game works fine. Any ideas?



Offline Pinstar

  • Ultima Lord
  • ****
  • Posts: 748
  • Your friendly neighborhood Teralyte
    • View Profile
    • The Legacy Challenge
Re: Space Stage Display Problem
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 08:56:54 pm »
I've got another display problem myself, though mine happens when I zoom into a planet, somtimes various plants/animals/buildings/pirate ships are slow to display. Some dont' display at all.

I actually failed a mission because I was unable to abduct a specific creature because my radar kept pointing to a patch of empty ground.
Creator of the Legacy Challenge

Visit my spore page!
http://www.spore.com/view/profile/Pinstar
Ratings and comments on all my creatures are always welcome!

Visit my Minicity
http://pinstar.myminicity.com

Offline Moogie

  • Missile Commander
  • **
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: Space Stage Display Problem
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 09:07:57 pm »
Similar-but-different display issue for me...

I had a "kill the infected citizens" mission today. I sat there for 2:30 of the 3 minute time limit just staring at the one, single, tiny little colony, with perhaps no more than 20 citizens running around... and NONE of them were glowing.

Out of desperation, I started throwing down crop circles just outside the city. To my relief (and quite frankly suprise) this seemed to work, and the trails started showing up, and I was just able to complete the mission.

Offline spiritofcat

  • Fishing Derby Champion
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
  • Ta-da!
    • View Profile
    • My Sporepedia Profile
Re: Space Stage Display Problem
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 09:46:37 pm »
I've got another display problem myself, though mine happens when I zoom into a planet, somtimes various plants/animals/buildings/pirate ships are slow to display. Some dont' display at all.

I actually failed a mission because I was unable to abduct a specific creature because my radar kept pointing to a patch of empty ground.
I get this 'problem' too. It seems to be caused by my PC not being able to load/generate the models fast enough.
I found a workable solution. Simply pause the game as soon as you enter the atmosphere of a planet and then wait for everything to pop in to existence.
Alternatively, for the glowing creature missions, I follow my radar to the place where there is some glow but the creature isn't visible yet, then pause while looking at the glow and wait for the creature to appear.

This seems to be happening more and taking longer to resolve since the patch.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2008, 10:33:41 pm by spiritofcat »

Offline Nincodedo

  • Pong Paddle
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Space Stage Display Problem
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2008, 09:03:38 am »
Huh, well now it seems that the space stage works on new game files, but not on any of my old saved files. Guess I will just have to start space over.

Offline Pinstar

  • Ultima Lord
  • ****
  • Posts: 748
  • Your friendly neighborhood Teralyte
    • View Profile
    • The Legacy Challenge
Re: Space Stage Display Problem
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2008, 09:07:06 am »
This bug showed up in my brand new space game. I was in Civ when I applied the patch.
Creator of the Legacy Challenge

Visit my spore page!
http://www.spore.com/view/profile/Pinstar
Ratings and comments on all my creatures are always welcome!

Visit my Minicity
http://pinstar.myminicity.com

Offline Ryuukuro

  • Phoenix Fighter
  • **
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Space Stage Display Problem
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2008, 11:22:57 pm »
I was playing the Space stage for about 3 hours and everything was working fine, Then at some point when I left a planet, the galaxy and stars areas displayed a black screen. I can still land on planets and those work fine, but the galaxy portions do not. I tried a new game to see if it was my saved data. Same problem. I uninstalled Spore and reinstalled it. Same problem. I installed the recent patch. Still not fixed. Here is a screenshot of what it looks like...

http://nincodedo.googlepages.com/spore_space.png

The rest of the game works fine. Any ideas?

I have the exact same problem!  I finally installed the game, had a blast with it, but when I get to Space stage I get a black stage at galaxy.  This happens with new games too.  I'm going to try restarting the game (no way I'm uninstalling it.)

It's a shame too and I hope Maxis can figure out what's going on.  Otherwise I've been enjoying the game in spite of all the negative hubub.
"It's just a game!  Stop complaining!"  - Me

"Earth is the Kingdom of Who-Gives-a-****" - Will Wright