Author Topic: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac  (Read 31532 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nicmacc

  • Breakout Battler
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #75 on: September 05, 2008, 09:08:04 am »
I just got confirmation from EA support that this is really the same issue as the login problems on PC. I actually got a reply in under an hour.

it cant be...i ran the game, recieved the same error message, re-formatted my mac, installed a fresh version of OSX/Spore and now the game works like a charm. It'd be a bit of a coincidence that the servers managed to fix itself for me and me alone in the hour it took me to reformat...especially when other people are still suffering the same problems (do i get my own license server? sweet! :p)

Offline Zhuriel

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #76 on: September 05, 2008, 09:22:25 am »
That could mean that it's not the false CD-Keys that were apparently given out...

Offline Necrox

  • Venture Conqueror
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
  • Underwater Civs For President!
    • View Profile
    • Lupus Photo
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #77 on: September 05, 2008, 09:28:33 am »
All please see this thread for login issues:
http://www.gamingsteve.com/blab/index.php?topic=14104.0

Maxis has posted some information they need from you in order to solve the problems with it. Get posting! ;)

Offline kkwikmick

  • Pong Paddle
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #78 on: September 05, 2008, 04:03:23 pm »
That thread is for a different problem. This is for the mac license server problem

Offline Zhuriel

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #79 on: September 05, 2008, 04:06:02 pm »
Could someone at maxis PLEASE look into this? All the Windows users are playing now and it still doesn't work for me. :'( :'(

Offline nicmacc

  • Breakout Battler
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #80 on: September 05, 2008, 05:44:55 pm »
bit extreme but a complete reformat worked for me :p

whilst i wouldnt recommend it, maybe informing EA that someone re-formatted and managed to play will help resolve the issue?

Offline Zhuriel

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #81 on: September 06, 2008, 01:46:00 am »
I'm not going to reformat anything. THey have messed up, they sort it out.

Offline kuninobu

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Your evil, cruel and totally handsome Emperor!
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #82 on: September 07, 2008, 07:27:30 am »
The problem is solved!

1. Open a terminal

2. Go to the /etc-directory (cd /etc)

3. Edit the hosts-file and remove the ""127.0.0.1 proxy.novafusion.ea.com" line (sudo nano hosts)

4. Save the file

5. Close the terminal and go play SPORE!

Offline Zhuriel

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
The problem is solved!

1. Open a terminal

2. Go to the /etc-directory (cd /etc)

3. Edit the hosts-file and remove the ""127.0.0.1 proxy.novafusion.ea.com" line (sudo nano hosts)

4. Save the file

5. Close the terminal and go play SPORE!

I don't have that line :'( :'( :'(

So, not really solved...
« Last Edit: September 07, 2008, 09:02:56 am by Zhuriel »

Offline kuninobu

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Your evil, cruel and totally handsome Emperor!
    • View Profile
The problem is solved!

1. Open a terminal

2. Go to the /etc-directory (cd /etc)

3. Edit the hosts-file and remove the ""127.0.0.1 proxy.novafusion.ea.com" line (sudo nano hosts)

4. Save the file

5. Close the terminal and go play SPORE!

I don't have that line :'( :'( :'(

So, not really solved...

Really? Can you post the contents of your hosts-file?

Offline nicmacc

  • Breakout Battler
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #85 on: September 08, 2008, 06:18:54 am »
well done if that works for you guys...i FINALLY recieved a response from EA about this...asking me to download and run some UOTrace exe file

My reply was less than civil :p

Offline Zhuriel

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #86 on: September 08, 2008, 06:57:52 am »
My replies are getting less civil too... :P
« Last Edit: September 08, 2008, 07:14:40 am by Zhuriel »

Offline charloto

  • Breakout Battler
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #87 on: September 08, 2008, 11:05:45 am »
I bought the game yesterday and I'm having this same problem.  I've sent three messages to EA with no responses.  It got annoying a long time ago.
Does anyone know if they're working on this license server problem that so many people are having?  I've seen no responses from EA anywhere even recognizing that there is an issue.


Offline Zhuriel

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #88 on: September 08, 2008, 11:16:15 am »
I hope that they are working on it. It seems that they have recognized it, but it will take some time...

Offline charloto

  • Breakout Battler
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to connect to licensing server for initial Spore install on a Mac
« Reply #89 on: September 08, 2008, 11:24:37 am »
I certainly hope it doesn't take too much time.  I'm incredibly frustrated that I've gotten no responses from my inquiries and there is no phone number to actually speak with a live person, that I have found.