Author Topic: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Planning and question thread  (Read 115245 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LadyM

  • Moderator
  • Mortal Kombat Konqueror
  • *****
  • Posts: 11114
  • I'm not confused anymore
    • View Profile
    • LadyMpire
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #90 on: March 15, 2008, 06:04:04 pm »
'tis good, I just did an upgrade on my video card and added extra RAM.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12397
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #91 on: March 15, 2008, 09:39:36 pm »
'tis good, I just did an upgrade on my video card and added extra RAM.

LOL I just did that too and my games don't crash anymore :D

gec05

  • Guest
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #92 on: March 16, 2008, 11:11:33 am »
So what's your current specs?

Offline LadyM

  • Moderator
  • Mortal Kombat Konqueror
  • *****
  • Posts: 11114
  • I'm not confused anymore
    • View Profile
    • LadyMpire
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #93 on: March 16, 2008, 02:26:04 pm »
Me? 4MB ram and a GTX8800 Nvidia card. I'm also going to be using the desktop not laptop for this game.

Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28733
  • GREAT SCOTT!!
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #94 on: March 16, 2008, 05:10:19 pm »
Very nice! Ever since I upgraded I went from 4 gigs of RAM to 2 gigs and even though the equipment is better the problems are still the same without the extra RAM I'm used to.

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12397
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #95 on: March 17, 2008, 12:09:58 am »
I jumped from 1 gig to 8 gigs of RAM :D

Offline eropS

  • Out Run Speedster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5117
  • That's right, I went there
    • View Profile
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #96 on: March 17, 2008, 12:37:00 pm »
..... where do you guys get the motherboards for that much ram? I can only have a MAX of 2 gigs...
No, no, he did. In the everything else section, at least. Officially, this makes him king.

Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28733
  • GREAT SCOTT!!
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #97 on: March 17, 2008, 12:44:49 pm »
4 gigs is more or less standard, at least it has been for the last few years. High denominations of RAM though are becoming much more common though. I forget which one it was, but there was a Mac a few years ago that had enough ports to hold 16 gigs of RAM or something ridiculous like that. Really though, if your other hardware isn't powerful enough to back up a large amount of RAM you will bottleneck and your computer will run poorly. It's all about finding the balance.

Offline Brandonazz

  • All Your Base Zero Wing
  • *****
  • Posts: 8911
  • Everything ends.
    • View Profile
    • My Internet Treasure Trove
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #98 on: March 17, 2008, 12:47:41 pm »
I work off two gigs and don't have any problems with high-end games.

Of course I don't play first persons often, but I run Crysis on medium. It doesn't bother me in the least.

gec05

  • Guest
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #99 on: March 17, 2008, 12:57:19 pm »
But with a game like the Sims 2 and if you have a lot of expansion packs, loading becomes a pain.

Offline PatMan33

  • Fable Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28733
  • GREAT SCOTT!!
    • View Profile
    • DuckDuckGo
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #100 on: March 17, 2008, 01:00:55 pm »
Building your town!

Populating the lake!

Slipping roofies to the dates!

Cleaning the pets!

Stocking the stores!

Reticulating the splines!


Offline emmet

  • Street Fighter Champion
  • *****
  • Posts: 10618
    • View Profile
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #101 on: March 17, 2008, 01:46:15 pm »
Dunno about you, but I have 6 of the 7 Sims 2 EPs and 2 Gigs of RAM, and a cheap processor. I have various other large games installed too, but I am still in a house in Sims 2 5 minutes after starting the game up.
No way dude, you're trolling me.

gec05

  • Guest
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #102 on: March 17, 2008, 01:56:25 pm »
You know what? Forget what I said about my experience. I forgot that crappy PC had only 512 MB RAM.

Offline Huckbuck

  • Balloon Fight Aerialist
  • *****
  • Posts: 4498
    • View Profile
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #103 on: March 17, 2008, 02:29:35 pm »
I remember playing Sims 1 with all x'cept 1 xon the computer I had back then, the loading screen with the logo in the begining took more than 5 minutes. But that comp was REALLY sucky. And my screen was so old that it had begun to get darker then normaly, it looked like night all the time when playing Sims :S
@davidramnero

Offline Hydromancerx

  • Master of Orion
  • *****
  • Posts: 12397
  • Klaatu Barada Nikto!
    • View Profile
    • Sagan 4
Re: Gaming Steve Sim Cruise - Book your high sea adventure now
« Reply #104 on: March 17, 2008, 04:48:15 pm »
But with a game like the Sims 2 and if you have a lot of expansion packs, loading becomes a pain.

I agree my loading time with the expansions plus all the custom content became insane. But now it loads much better and fast. Plus with the new video card i can now have the setting all the way up with no lag plus i can see things i could not before such as the fish swimming in the ponds and fish tanks.