Author Topic: one question about spore for the PC  (Read 4190 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Skyward

  • Ballblazer Plasmorb
  • *****
  • Posts: 3481
    • View Profile
one question about spore for the PC
« on: October 29, 2007, 11:43:28 am »
will it only be avalible for Windows Vista (please say no :-[)

my comp is already slow enough:'(


Hell, Skyward Descent is pure win!
Quote from: Captain
I kill you in the name of DELICIOUS!

Offline edspore_91

  • Video Pinball Wizard
  • *
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2007, 11:46:30 am »
I shouldnt be, because maxis want this game to appeal to alot of people and there is alot of people who do not have windows vista for there computer, so i highlt doubt it.
Now its just a waiting game until next year

Offline Plank of Wood

  • Final Fighter
  • *****
  • Posts: 8436
  • Ka-Boom!
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2007, 12:09:52 pm »
He says that if you can play the the Sims 2, your computer can play Spore.
the real saviour of this forum

Offline Petike

  • Stargate Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2007, 12:17:56 pm »
He says that if you can play the the Sims 2, your computer can play Spore.
No, he doesn't.
Probably Sore will have higher system requirements.

Quote from: MasterChiToes in "Spore was dumbed down"
Maybe the Sporons are the ones that got dumbed down?  ;D

Offline Plank of Wood

  • Final Fighter
  • *****
  • Posts: 8436
  • Ka-Boom!
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2007, 12:39:02 pm »
Will Did say that at one point, get your Sporon facts right.  ::)
the real saviour of this forum

Offline Skyward

  • Ballblazer Plasmorb
  • *****
  • Posts: 3481
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2007, 02:09:28 pm »
thx guys just wanted to be sure ;)
Hell, Skyward Descent is pure win!
Quote from: Captain
I kill you in the name of DELICIOUS!

Offline microgta

  • Gorf Goon
  • ****
  • Posts: 810
  • OH NOES!
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2007, 02:38:05 pm »
This has been posted before. Please search next time. Any way no it os not just for WinVista. It will be a Games For Windows game. It has to be one technically. It will be compatible with Vista and XP.
"gameplayer.com will fail" says Petike.

Offline happydan20

  • Venture Conqueror
  • ****
  • Posts: 775
  • Discovered the "everything syndrome."
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2007, 08:52:48 pm »
where has it been said it was going under the games for windows program?
I survived the flood of 2008 and all I got was this crappy homelessness.

Offline microgta

  • Gorf Goon
  • ****
  • Posts: 810
  • OH NOES!
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2007, 04:41:18 pm »
It actually doesnt need to be said. All PC games are under that Games For Windows program. Im not sure what year it was enacted but its been around since about late 06 or early 07.
"gameplayer.com will fail" says Petike.

Offline Veraal

  • Zelda Zealot
  • *****
  • Posts: 5926
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2007, 04:59:43 pm »
Games which wish to be included in the Games for Windows platform must meet certain requirements regulated by Microsoft. These include, but are not limited to:

An "Easy Install" option that installs the title on your PC in the fewest possible steps and mouse clicks
Compatibility with the Windows Vista Games Explorer (see below)
Compatibility with the Xbox 360 controller (where applicable)
Installs and runs properly on x64 versions of Windows Vista and is compatible with 64-bit processors (though the game itself can be 32-bit)
Supports normal and widescreen resolutions, such as 4:3 aspect ratio (800 x 600, 1024 x 768), 16:9 aspect ratio (1280 x 720), and 16:10 aspect ratio (1152 x 720, 1280 x 800)
Launching from Media Center (Windows Vista Home Premium and Windows Vista Ultimate have Media Center)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Games_For_Windows

Offline Axelgear

  • Fooblitzky Fooble
  • *****
  • Posts: 4258
    • View Profile
    • Axel's Playground
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2007, 04:48:04 am »
Oh Microsoft, you make the world compatible.  ;D
Axel's Playground - Come see what I'm playing with today.

Offline Petike

  • Stargate Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2007, 08:11:17 am »
Will Did say that at one point, get your Sporon facts right.  ::)
Hey, you said something that you couldn't confirm with a link, I said it doesn't exists. You are the one who has to show something. 
(BTW I would be happy if you could prove me that I'm wrong, but I couldn't find it anywhere, but when people mention it, and I ask about it, they say: "I'm sure I saw it "somewhere""
Quote from: MasterChiToes in "Spore was dumbed down"
Maybe the Sporons are the ones that got dumbed down?  ;D

Offline Plank of Wood

  • Final Fighter
  • *****
  • Posts: 8436
  • Ka-Boom!
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2007, 08:26:54 am »
Will Did say that at one point, get your Sporon facts right.  ::)
Hey, you said something that you couldn't confirm with a link, I said it doesn't exists. You are the one who has to show something. 
(BTW I would be happy if you could prove me that I'm wrong, but I couldn't find it anywhere, but when people mention it, and I ask about it, they say: "I'm sure I saw it "somewhere""

Ahh crap, Cant find it, its somewhere deep in the bowls of spore planet, or whatever. Anyway, giving it high reqiurements would make Will lose the casual gamers whowm the gameis targeted for.

Look, sims 2 dosen't exactly have low specs itself, its pretty likely that it will be the same as Spore.
the real saviour of this forum

Offline Xenomorph

  • Balloon Fight Aerialist
  • *****
  • Posts: 4467
  • ....
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2007, 09:13:30 am »
Will Did say that at one point, get your Sporon facts right.  ::)
Hey, you said something that you couldn't confirm with a link, I said it doesn't exists. You are the one who has to show something. 
(BTW I would be happy if you could prove me that I'm wrong, but I couldn't find it anywhere, but when people mention it, and I ask about it, they say: "I'm sure I saw it "somewhere""

Ahh crap, Cant find it, its somewhere deep in the bowls of spore planet, or whatever.

maybe an alibi can help? because i know i've read something like that somewhere too! ;)
"Apply layers to Reality
Things only you can see
Add a beat to Normality
To tap the core of Insanity"

Offline Petike

  • Stargate Superstar
  • ****
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
Re: one question about spore for the PC
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2007, 09:55:32 am »

Ahh crap, Cant find it, its somewhere deep in the bowls of spore planet, or whatever.
What a surprise  ::)

Anyway, giving it high reqiurements would make Will lose the casual gamers whowm the gameis targeted for.

Look, sims 2 dosen't exactly have low specs itself, its pretty likely that it will be the same as Spore.
Probably they will try to keep it on as low as they can, but a 800 MHz processor and 256 MB RAM for minimum? LOL!

Let's presume that Spore has a similar graphical quality to Sims 2. (actually it its much better), but still, in Spore:
-Everything is procedurally generated, the system has to generate everything, not just run.
-The areas are bigger. In Sims, there is only a single house loaded, + a small garden. In Spore, even in the creature phase, you can explore the land as far as you can see.
-In Sims 2, even if there is more than 8-10 people on the screen, it really slows down. In Spore, in the civ. phase there will be hundreads of units with an own AI, moving around.


Quote from: MasterChiToes in "Spore was dumbed down"
Maybe the Sporons are the ones that got dumbed down?  ;D