Gaming Steve Message Board

Will Wright's Spore => Spore: General => Topic started by: SakuraNekoGamer on November 25, 2016, 09:35:16 am

Title: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on November 25, 2016, 09:35:16 am
Help! I need to record my thanksgiving video for YouTube, so I set my heart on Spore. I stayed up all night planning, and when I go to open spore, it opens, but I see the mouse cursor blue and screen black, and nothing. The intro never starts! Its just stuck there! I have sat there, waiting 15 minutes, to 20, and next to 35, and then before I know it, I have been waiting an hour! I have tried restarting, Converting to an older version of the game, but nothing works! And when I try to check for the files, to see if someone screwed up the files on me, it was as if there were only 7 folders, when I swore there were 10! Am I insane? Can this be fixed! I am not ready to flush a year's worth of work and progress down the drain! There needs to be a way to fix it!! Help me!!! :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( >:( >:( :( :( :( :( :'( :'( :'( :-[ :-[
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on November 25, 2016, 10:39:16 am
You have tried reinstalling it and updating it? (IT should update automatic if you use steams version. I have my self avoided EA Origin so I can not say to much about that.)

Also go and look for you creature files and such and make a backup. If you uploaded stuff to the sporepedia then that should be safe on that site.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Ultimatum on November 25, 2016, 10:55:39 am
 sporepedia is still up?

Blimy

also,welcome to the forums

You can introduce yourself here! (http://www.gamingsteve.com/blab/index.php?topic=87.1035/)
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on November 25, 2016, 12:32:18 pm
Yep. And it is still growing to.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Ultimatum on November 25, 2016, 12:48:47 pm
Impossible!

Why would EA keep online the service of a failed game?

Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Oviraptor on November 25, 2016, 02:02:42 pm
Well, it didn't fail financially.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Ultimatum on November 25, 2016, 02:10:56 pm
perhaps not

Just surprised its still around
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on November 25, 2016, 03:02:53 pm
Well I am glad that they still having it up. It is a nice creative platform. It maybe was not as big as we all hoped but still a game that keeps inspiring people until this day.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on November 29, 2016, 01:04:48 pm
You have tried reinstalling it and updating it? (IT should update automatic if you use steams version. I have my self avoided EA Origin so I can not say to much about that.)

Also go and look for you creature files and such and make a backup. If you uploaded stuff to the sporepedia then that should be safe on that site.

I dont have steam version. I have the disk. from 2006. No scratches. Mint condition.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on November 29, 2016, 01:29:41 pm
So have you tried updating it via EAs download manager? Back then it was just called that but it has largely been replaced with Origin now. I have not experience with Origin and do not want to defile my computer with that! >_<
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on November 29, 2016, 02:58:38 pm
So have you tried updating it via EAs download manager? Back then it was just called that but it has largely been replaced with Origin now. I have not experience with Origin and do not want to defile my computer with that! >_<

Er... I dont have EA download manager, and when i try to download Orgins, it crashes and says something about an error extracting from x64.exe
Idk what this stuff means!
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on November 30, 2016, 08:07:09 am
Do you have a 32 bit computer by any chance? It might be that the origin client you got is 64 bit and you use a old 32 bit computer. Though in that case EA should have a 32 bit client to. I mean they went to a lot of trouble making The Sims 4 32 bit over 64.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Slinky on November 30, 2016, 08:41:12 am
im running windows 3.1 and i can play the witcher 3 if i put in a Myst disc and then swap it out with witcher while it's loading
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Ultimatum on November 30, 2016, 09:35:13 am
slink dont **** post

god who taught you such bad habits?
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 03, 2016, 04:00:01 pm
Do you have a 32 bit computer by any chance? It might be that the origin client you got is 64 bit and you use a old 32 bit computer. Though in that case EA should have a 32 bit client to. I mean they went to a lot of trouble making The Sims 4 32 bit over 64.
Uh.. How do I check that?
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on December 04, 2016, 07:32:38 am
Well you could try to check in your  Operating System. I do not know what Operating System you use however so I can not say exactly how you do it until I know. But I take it your not super experienced with computers.

Anyway is a bit hard to guide you with the limit information we got now.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 07, 2016, 01:51:06 pm
Well you could try to check in your  Operating System. I do not know what Operating System you use however so I can not say exactly how you do it until I know. But I take it your not super experienced with computers.

Anyway is a bit hard to guide you with the limit information we got now.
I just got gifted the steam one, and it won't run either... do you suppose its an issue with a file in my classic spore causing both to fail? like a corrupted save file?
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on December 07, 2016, 02:41:10 pm
Could be. Though I do not think a clean steam version would actually have you stuff. You can try to make a backup of those file and put them in to a compressed folder that the game can not reach and test.

You did run it in the past with you current setup?
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 09, 2016, 06:56:58 pm
Could be. Though I do not think a clean steam version would actually have you stuff. You can try to make a backup of those file and put them in to a compressed folder that the game can not reach and test.

You did run it in the past with you current setup?
Yeah! But Without the steam version, not too long ago, it was fine... Then, on thanksgiving, it wouldn't work!
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on December 10, 2016, 07:09:57 am
Really weird. Have there been any updates? Like you graphics card or the game it self?

You can try to run it in windowed mode and see if that helps. It might be just slow loading. I saw some said you can force it to run on a dedicated CPU core and that might help. You have to mix with the task manager then which can be iffy if you not that well versed with computers. So try window mode first.
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 11, 2016, 02:23:40 pm
Really weird. Have there been any updates? Like you graphics card or the game it self?

You can try to run it in windowed mode and see if that helps. It might be just slow loading. I saw some said you can force it to run on a dedicated CPU core and that might help. You have to mix with the task manager then which can be iffy if you not that well versed with computers. So try window mode first.
How do I do that...
And no, no updates that I am aware of...
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on December 11, 2016, 04:59:32 pm
Try this link for how to do it. It is for Linux but it works the same way in windows. Just add -w at the end of the start-up.

On in steam go and click on the right click games name in you game list and select properties. Then select set launch options. And add -w

http://forum.spore.com/jforum/posts/list/4153.page#36457
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 11, 2016, 07:09:48 pm
Try this link for how to do it. It is for Linux but it works the same way in windows. Just add -w at the end of the start-up.

On in steam go and click on the right click games name in you game list and select properties. Then select set launch options. And add -w

http://forum.spore.com/jforum/posts/list/4153.page#36457
I will try
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 12, 2016, 12:03:07 pm
Try this link for how to do it. It is for Linux but it works the same way in windows. Just add -w at the end of the start-up.

On in steam go and click on the right click games name in you game list and select properties. Then select set launch options. And add -w

http://forum.spore.com/jforum/posts/list/4153.page#36457
wait, there is no audio in the background. Its just silence black with animated cursor...
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on December 12, 2016, 02:04:00 pm
You made it run in Window mode?
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: SakuraNekoGamer on December 12, 2016, 04:00:43 pm
You made it run in Window mode?
it wont let me
Title: Re: Spore wont start, even though I have been using it regularly for the past year.
Post by: Yokto on December 13, 2016, 05:55:40 am
Wont let you? You should notice if you start it up and it got a boarder now if it running in window mode. Note that it might not work to fix you problem. But you should see some effect. Do you see any window border now when you start up?