Gaming Steve Message Board

Games, Games, and More Games => Console Games => Topic started by: B.A.S. on November 10, 2007, 02:20:24 pm

Title: Xbox Live Help
Post by: B.A.S. on November 10, 2007, 02:20:24 pm
Hey everyone, got my xbox 360 middle of october and after completing Halo 3 I have the craving for some live action only ive encountered several problems. First of all I looked at the xbox live site and I have no idea what there talking about with all there various methods of getting the cable too the computer and what not (Im an idiot when it comes too computers), alas I came here as I belive you'll be able too help me with my problem. So let me get started.

Appearently I need too hook up two ethernet cables (I think thats them) too connect too xbox live. I have the xbox 360 elite so im sure it comes with it. But heres my problem, looking at the cable it appears it wont be big enough too get into the next room over. The way its setup is that my xbox 360 is in my room which is beside the computer room and the cable is just waaay too short too reach the computer room even if i was too drill a hole in my wall (Which is not an option). So I ask you, is there anyway I can possibly buy another cable (Are they cheap/expensive?) or is there anything else I can do? Im looking for the easiest/fastest and least expensive way of doing this. Any other information you need just let me know!

Thanks alot!
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Danzik on November 10, 2007, 02:29:52 pm
Durgon,
does the ethernet cable coming out of the back of your broadband modem plug directly into your computer
or does it do into a router?

If you do, you'll just need a longer Ethernet cable. (They aren't expensive) (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=4660731)

If you don't have a router, you'll likely need to get one.  (They aren't that expensive either.) (http://shop1.outpost.com/%7BeTuo+cd8VkMy6ZAiZ3GNhg**.node1%7D/product/5342028;jsessionid=eTuo+cd8VkMy6ZAiZ3GNhg**.node1?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG)


Actually, there is a way to enable Xbox Live without a router.  It requires using ICS.  Link here (http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/windowsics-usb.htm).  It does seem like more of a pain since, I don't believe, many people connect to their broadband modems via USB cables but, that option is available.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: B.A.S. on November 10, 2007, 02:39:37 pm
Well before I can answer the question I need too ask you a question. Whats a Broadband Modem and a Router. Yes im aware I probably just gave you a nice lol moment but alas this is my Computer Knowledge in a nutshell.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Danzik on November 10, 2007, 02:47:04 pm
Well, the Modem is what provides your highspeed internet.
A ethernet cable will be coming out the back of it and either plug directly into your computer or it will run into a router which is another similarly looking box.





Edit: Removed pics
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: B.A.S. on November 10, 2007, 03:16:13 pm
Looks like I have a Modem. There are several cables attached too it, one runs into the wall from the looks of things and than the second one into the back of my computer and the third..a small black box that then hooks into the power bar I assume the thing that gives it power. Hope this helps.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Danzik on November 10, 2007, 03:29:00 pm
That answers the question then.  You're going to need an external router and longer ethernet cable.  They aren't too expensive ($40-60) and the setup is pretty easy.  Most electronics stores carry them.

Until you purchase the router, you could always run a long ethernet cable from your 360 to the modem.  Then, just swap the cables when you want to get on Xbox Live.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: B.A.S. on November 10, 2007, 03:39:01 pm
So that means I cant use the computer while my xbox live is running?
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Danzik on November 10, 2007, 05:01:32 pm
You won't be able to use the internet but, the computer will work just fine.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: B.A.S. on November 10, 2007, 05:26:05 pm
Alright thanks alot Danzik I really appreciate it!
Title: Can Anyone Sign into Xbox Live?
Post by: Fink on November 12, 2007, 06:17:29 pm
(as of 7:16 PM MST, November 12, 2007)

I can't do it on my 360, or going through xbox.com

Can someone else try so I know it's not me? All other sites work fine.
Title: Re: Can Anyone Sign into Xbox Live?
Post by: Danzik on November 12, 2007, 06:20:34 pm
Nope, something must be up with the servers.
Edit: Merging with previous Xbox Live help topic
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: ilikesanta on November 12, 2007, 06:31:39 pm
I was having problems with it on saturday. I think they might be getting ready for the fall update.

Majornelson is down too.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Fink on November 12, 2007, 06:39:34 pm
Oh, that would be cool if it was the Fall update!

Here's hoping that you can fast forward through music files.
I listen to Podcasts, and it's a pain to start over every time you have to stop in the middle of one.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Danzik on November 12, 2007, 06:44:06 pm
Yep, Live is going down tonight, (http://news.teamxbox.com/xbox/15077/Xbox-Live-Down-for-Maintenance-Tonight/) around midnight PST.

Maybe we'll get IPTV tomorrow.
Probably not.
Title: Re: Xbox Help
Post by: Fink on November 17, 2007, 10:54:10 pm
Ok, That was freaky. My Xbox 360 wouldn't shut down.

I pushed the power button and it went into low-power mode, like if it was downloading something.
However, it wasn't blinking green to indicate downloading.

It finally shut off on it's own, but it was enough time for me to get on here to make a post.

Has anyone heard of this before?
Please don't red ring!  :'(
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Danzik on November 17, 2007, 11:03:21 pm
Did you have a wireless controller or any other USB device plugged in?
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: ilikesanta on November 17, 2007, 11:12:00 pm
The only thing I can think of would be if it was downloading something I don't always see the green light blink? do you have auto-download on for arcade games?
Title: Re: Xbox Help
Post by: Gungnir on November 18, 2007, 04:26:18 pm
Ok, That was freaky. My Xbox 360 wouldn't shut down.

I pushed the power button and it went into low-power mode, like if it was downloading something.
However, it wasn't blinking green to indicate downloading.

It finally shut off on it's own, but it was enough time for me to get on here to make a post.

Has anyone heard of this before?
Please don't red ring!  :'(

When I put in the plug-and-play or charge and go or whatever it's called..the chargey thing for a controller I have, into the USB port, it does that. If I don't want it to be on, I remove and reinsirt the power cord.
Title: Re: Xbox Live Help
Post by: Fink on November 20, 2007, 10:15:45 pm
Yeah, I think it was my wireless controller being plugged in.
I've done that before, but I thought it was fully charged.

Phew! I scared myself  :P