Poll

Have you had "patch 1" issues, and what state was your Spore installation in before patching?

I've had graphical issues (clean Spore installation)
8 (10.7%)
I've had graphical issues (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
0 (0%)
I've had gameplay issues (clean Spore installation)
2 (2.7%)
I've had gameplay issues (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
0 (0%)
I've had more crashes since patching (clean Spore installation)
5 (6.7%)
I've had more crashes since patching (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
0 (0%)
I've had several of the above issues (clean Spore installation)
10 (13.3%)
I've not been able to install the patch (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
0 (0%)
I've had all of the above issues (clean Spore installation)
9 (12%)
I've had all of the above issues (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
1 (1.3%)
I've had no problems at all (clean Spore installation)
34 (45.3%)
I've had no problems at all (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
4 (5.3%)
I've not been able to install the patch (clean Spore installation)
1 (1.3%)
I've not been able to install the patch (altered and/or modded Spore installation)
1 (1.3%)

Total Members Voted: 75

Author Topic: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?  (Read 5290 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GarytheRed

  • Pong Paddle
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2008, 12:46:19 pm »
I can't even install the patch. My computer freezes everytime.

But reading some of the stuff here, I don't think I really want to install it.

Offline munchkin5

  • Punch-Out Champ
  • *****
  • Posts: 3130
  • Gentlemen.
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #16 on: September 22, 2008, 12:55:38 pm »
my computer just stops the program thats installing it responding just before it ends

Offline Zuka

  • Crazy Climber Cuckoo
  • **
  • Posts: 135
  • What.. Are.. You.. LOOKING AT??!!
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #17 on: September 22, 2008, 02:54:05 pm »
The sound is all garbage now. Sounds don't happen until the actions are long done for some reason.
-!-~ Under-Construction ~-!-
For Now, Enjoy Gasping At This Amazing New Picture Of "Spore".

   http://www.yourdumbz0rz.com/stfu/spore/no1/spor_editor.jpg

Offline 0d1n3oo3Broad

  • Asteroids Aficionado
  • **
  • Posts: 124
  • SPORE ON! Walium go!
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube-Channel
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #18 on: September 22, 2008, 03:40:00 pm »
Okay, i just played a 5 hours game quite nicely despite the sound- and not-loading-modells-bug. But no crashes. I just changed the texturedetails from high to medium. I simply can not understand this....i played yesterday evening with everything on high for 5 hours without crash and today noon/afternoon with 7 crashes in 4 hours....
Well, but i'm glad it does work at least a little bit again.
~~#SPORE#~~ :D ~~#SPORE#~~ :D
~~#SPORE is ON#~~ :D :D
~~#EXCELENT#~~ :D
Visit my Profile: http://www.spore.com/view/profile/Mechanikus

Offline Gauphastus

  • Ice Climber
  • *****
  • Posts: 4131
  • Hey, man.
    • View Profile
    • Gauphastumblr
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #19 on: September 22, 2008, 03:44:04 pm »
No problems with the patch, no.
Same old problems with random crashing in space stage, sure.

Haven't started a fresh game with the patch though, so I haven't seen anything other than space.
Space phase sure wants me to spot something on my desktop, seeing as it keeps sending me back to it.
"Ma all the gods of furious strong be with you as you crunch opposents, and live like a windrammer as you f**k."
       ~Ricky Wangstrom

Offline Pietoro

  • Rigel Rescuer
  • ***
  • Posts: 418
    • View Profile
    • My Sporepedia
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2008, 04:07:30 pm »
Game has only crashed once (with no message) for me. No problems yet so far.
"Ooh rabba la dee teeb, ooh babba labba squeeb!"

Offline Legodragonxp

  • Excitebike Gearhead
  • *****
  • Posts: 3556
  • Now for some real user power...
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #21 on: September 22, 2008, 04:52:06 pm »
I tried the patch twice. Once on my initial game, then once after a clean reinstall. Both times it sucked. Has the feel of a memory leak issue.

The second time through the game started fine but would lag more and m o r e   a   n   d        m                 o                r                e.

It never crashed, it just slowed down, but I was too pissed off to wait for a crash.

Back to playing the original (which works fine for me).

-Lego

Offline SL

  • Missile Commander
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #22 on: September 22, 2008, 06:00:27 pm »
I voted 'no problems' and clean. I haven't experienced any of the problems I've heard anyone else mention, although my only game at the time I installed the patch was either about to go to Space or had just gotten to Space. Since then I've only recently started two new planets, and the creatures there are only in creature stage (to see if I had any invisible creatures or anything, for one - and I had no problems there, everything's quite visible).

There was one odd difference I noticed (which I'd consider trivial next to the problems other people have had). The textures applied to the early cells no longer seem to be transparent.

Offline Prathik

  • Mystery House Madman
  • **
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2008, 08:39:11 pm »
I played just for 4 hours and had 7!!! crashes! 6 as i wanted to fly around a planet and 1 as i hovered my mouse over a city-icon in the planetary minimap.
The loadingbug of modells is worse than yesterday! I just waited 10 minutes(!!!) to load 1 modell in it's sporecard! Then sometimes the background of the Sporecard isn't shown at all.
Also a lot of city textures and the citywalls wouldn't load normally. In one case i waited roughly 8 minutes but the groundtextures and citywall hadn't loaded.
The soundbug occurs less though.

This "patch" is ridicules....if not ludicrous!

Yeah Its basically breaking my game. Which sucks since I spend a 100 bucks on it.. and bought it legally.. and yet I can barely even play it due to some dumb-ass patch. IF IT WASNT BROKEN, WHY BREAK IT MORE? I'm seriously pissed off.

Offline DylanTK

  • Video Pinball Wizard
  • *
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Reinstall due to Patch?
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2008, 10:00:24 pm »
I'm debating whether or not I should reinstall my game, therefore decided to try and get some insight on what others are doing. Please state the pros and cons of your decision, as well as concerns you may have about the whole situation...

Pre-patch: I just had faulty AI issues.
Post-patch: my game is freezing up without warning, and my creature portraits have seen better days... but at least the faulty AI has been fixed!  ::)

Offline AlfredO

  • Phoenix Fighter
  • **
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
Re: Reinstall due to Patch?
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2008, 10:14:20 pm »
Didn't get it, mainly since I can't connect to the Spore servers for some reason. I kind of regret it, as I would rather it be a little buggier if I could see other people's creations and publish mine. Maybe I'll wait a few more playthroughs till I seriously try to log on. But if anyone can tell me why I'm having this problem, that would be really nice.

Offline Petreak

  • Sea Battler
  • ***
  • Posts: 391
    • View Profile
    • Petreak's Graphics and Stuff!
Re: Reinstall due to Patch?
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2008, 10:49:00 pm »
I had to un-install the game and re-install it so I could play. The patch really messed the game up for me. I guess I'll wait for a new patch and see how it turns out for people that try it.
"No matter where you go, there you are."

Offline Prathik

  • Mystery House Madman
  • **
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2008, 11:43:26 pm »
This sucks.. is there any way to keep saved game files? cause I already lost an old game-file before due to some bug.. and now my second space-almost-allied-with-grox would be lost if I un-installed. or should I just wait for the patch?

Offline Necrox

  • Venture Conqueror
  • ****
  • Posts: 776
  • Underwater Civs For President!
    • View Profile
    • Lupus Photo
Re: Poll: Have you had any issues with the patch?
« Reply #28 on: September 23, 2008, 02:29:44 am »
Poll updated to include an option to vote that the patch will not install.