Author Topic: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet  (Read 19756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WhiteWolf7

  • Sea Battler
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #45 on: March 15, 2007, 10:46:51 pm »
Dont like it at all.

We did not afterall choose which planet we grew up on.

you get what life deals you and that should hold true to planet choice too.

But of course if you go aqutic then it should force a somewhat planet with water that is the only thing that should be used in selection of planet which the comp does.

While not completely confirmed there are substantail evidence that there are NO aquatic creatures

Anyways a systems like civ $ is what i expect for example

Planet size: Small Medium Large

Water vs terran ratio Terran 50% water 50%

Vegetation percentige 70

Maybe some other stuff like athomsphere style etc

But honestly i don't care so long as everytime we start a new game were not always on the same exact planet

NEVER argue with an idiot. They bring you down to their level and beat you with exprience

Offline SpaceOddity

  • Vanguard Venturer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1128
  • Europan
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #46 on: March 16, 2007, 01:08:20 am »
I don't know whether someone suggested this before, but couldn't it just be the way Spore allows you to "save" a previous game? The galaxy is large enough to hold all your previous attempts. This would imply that you can't enter this screen until you have evolved to aspace at least once. This could then probably be unlocked with a cheat key, to cater the more casual players.
<<<< Click to enter.

Offline Doctor Z

  • Space Harrier
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #47 on: March 16, 2007, 01:30:41 am »
Instead of you creature adapting to the envrionment the environment adapts to you.
In Soviet Russia, Environment adapts to YOU!!!!

Offline WhiteWolf7

  • Sea Battler
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #48 on: March 16, 2007, 01:39:56 am »
It likely is a game select type thing. Oh well hopefully starting on diffrent planets will be confiremed soon. Though i do rember willsaying the landscape was procedualy generated in the GDC 05 demo. But you cant take much from that credible anymore
NEVER argue with an idiot. They bring you down to their level and beat you with exprience

Offline Spore-addict

  • Kaboom Boomer!
  • ****
  • Posts: 717
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #49 on: March 16, 2007, 04:53:44 am »
I think there are substantial proof that there is aquatic animals!

Why should Will Wrigth say the animal that ran towards the water in the swsx video was aquatic?

It could be a game bug...but that is doubtfull!
Master Raytracer Spore-addict = KarmaCowboy

See you out there, feel free to comment my creatures.

Offline GrapeFruit

  • Gorf Goon
  • ****
  • Posts: 817
  • I'm killing my way to truth!
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #50 on: March 16, 2007, 05:18:55 am »
I think there are substantial proof that there is aquatic animals!

Why should Will Wrigth say the animal that ran towards the water in the swsx video was aquatic?

It could be a game bug...but that is doubtfull!


You haven't seen many WW speeches yet, right?

It's very likely that he was joking around
Quote from: Liquos
I can't wait that long! I'm gonna explode from patience!

Quote from: Parkaboy
Quote
"Around the world you may notice that other creatures evolve while others don't"
That's because some of them are christians.

Offline Spore-addict

  • Kaboom Boomer!
  • ****
  • Posts: 717
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #51 on: March 16, 2007, 08:47:26 am »
So it was a game bug. oh well did not see that.

I guess its very bad that aquatic animals dont appear in the game.
What about flying animals?

I watch some of the spore stuff but truth to say is bored of waiting. all that fuss lets see the damm thing soon.

Master Raytracer Spore-addict = KarmaCowboy

See you out there, feel free to comment my creatures.

Offline SpaceOddity

  • Vanguard Venturer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1128
  • Europan
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #52 on: March 16, 2007, 08:55:20 am »
I'm sure that aquatic creatures are more likely to be in the game than flying creatures are. And since I don't think we'll see underwater creatures in the stages after tidepool... flying creatures: not likely... at all.
<<<< Click to enter.

Offline luke

  • Rigel Rescuer
  • ***
  • Posts: 423
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #53 on: March 16, 2007, 09:25:30 am »
Hay i know this has problem been confirmed already or something but i personly dont know will there be snowy planets and all that?

Offline WhiteWolf7

  • Sea Battler
  • ***
  • Posts: 376
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #54 on: March 16, 2007, 09:35:02 am »
For the 1000th time will was very sarcastic when he said they were aquatic and the only evidence aquatic creatures have is the GDC 05 vid and that is hardly even evidence

No the only thing we need for flying creatures is wings and we do. i doubt flyers are in but there is more of a chance of the barney and the ninja turtles being in the game as your teachers then aquatic creatures
NEVER argue with an idiot. They bring you down to their level and beat you with exprience

Offline Luminar

  • Gyromite Gyro
  • *****
  • Posts: 4332
  • i'm losin' it
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #55 on: March 16, 2007, 10:01:21 am »
Instead of you creature adapting to the envrionment the environment adapts to you.
In Soviet Russia, Environment adapts to YOU!!!!
Good god, we're all going to be living in the commieverse?

Offline SpaceOddity

  • Vanguard Venturer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1128
  • Europan
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #56 on: March 16, 2007, 11:33:27 am »
[...]
No the only thing we need for flying creatures is wings and we do. [...]
"the only thing we need for swimmers are fins, and we do" *shakes head*

No, the problem with both swimming and flying as opposed to running is the z-axis, 3-d movement and 3-d combats. You'd need to do something special to make the movement intuitive. That said, I am rather cofindent that both swimmers and flyers can/will be added later, though. They did solve the problem (of movement at least) for the UFO, although in the team talk they made it clear that it was not easy to make it in such a way that the player doesn't loose track of proper orientation.
<<<< Click to enter.

Offline Zycke

  • Asteroids Aficionado
  • **
  • Posts: 113
  • The time is upon us!!
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #57 on: March 16, 2007, 11:36:02 am »
Dont like it at all.

We did not afterall choose which planet we grew up on.

you get what life deals you and that should hold true to planet choice too.

But of course if you go aqutic then it should force a somewhat planet with water that is the only thing that should be used in selection of planet which the comp does.

While not completely confirmed there are substantail evidence that there are NO aquatic creatures

Anyways a systems like civ $ is what i expect for example

Planet size: Small Medium Large

Water vs terran ratio Terran 50% water 50%

Vegetation percentige 70

Maybe some other stuff like athomsphere style etc

But honestly i don't care so long as everytime we start a new game were not always on the same exact planet



I wouldnt mid seeing sumthing like that, Planet Size, water land ratio etc..just plumming in details about the planet you want (you dont see it tho) but your preferences are slammed onto the planet tho :)
http://www.spore.com/view/profile/Zycke

Whey!! Go My Sporlings!! Go!

Offline Brutus

  • Ice Climber
  • *****
  • Posts: 4140
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #58 on: March 16, 2007, 11:38:56 am »
optional down nther!!


i think it would be kinda nice to start the game with a blank planet and under control of some random species ufo, then you terraform the planet below you (no other tools are available and you can't leave that planet) and shoot a life spore into the sea, then the camera follows the spore and then when it lands, poof!!!!

microbe stage.
Never mind your own business.

Offline Doctor Z

  • Space Harrier
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
    • View Profile
Re: Looks possible that you choose your starting planet
« Reply #59 on: March 16, 2007, 02:04:02 pm »
Um.... Yea...


Id just like the Preference Sliders, that way, you can still explore your planet, while not being pissed off that its snowy, and your creature is in short-shorts.