Author Topic: Spore Transfer  (Read 7865 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lush City

  • Crystal Castle Gem Eater
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
  • Get those blasted Power Rangers!
    • View Profile
Spore Transfer
« on: September 05, 2010, 09:28:28 pm »
So I'm in a bit of a pickle. I have SPORE on one computer, but I've long since lost the disc and now I want to put it on another. Is their anyway to transfer the data from one console to another?



Offline Crazen

  • Space Ace
  • *****
  • Posts: 2998
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 03:50:48 pm »
make sure all your creations are uploaded online (I didnt do this and lost half of them). then install it on another computer and enter your username. your creations will begin to be downloaded.
Quote from: SimplyNecro
No capitalization......

Crazen!


Offline GroxGlitch

  • Gyruss Gyrusian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2718
  • Somehow, I've even less of a clue what's going on.
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 04:21:46 pm »
She's missing her disc, she can't install it, unless she got it through Steam.

Offline Flisch

  • H.E.R.O. Rescue Worker
  • *****
  • Posts: 3546
  • Banned - 17/07/15
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2010, 05:22:26 pm »
How do you play Spore on a blackberry?
There is, of course, a difference between having a laugh with someone, and having a laugh at their expense

Offline Lush City

  • Crystal Castle Gem Eater
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
  • Get those blasted Power Rangers!
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2010, 05:32:03 pm »
That's the issue. Spore is stuck on the computer that I (obviously) don't have much acess to.

Offline Clarke

  • Jungle Hunter
  • *****
  • Posts: 1664
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2010, 05:45:32 pm »
I think they have an app for it. I might be confusing it with the iphone, though.

Offline Lush City

  • Crystal Castle Gem Eater
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
  • Get those blasted Power Rangers!
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2010, 07:01:17 pm »
I just explained, your jokes are not welcomed.

Offline Prok

  • Fire Truck Driver
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2010, 11:56:12 am »
I've had that issue with other games... in those cases I just copy + paste whatever's installed in the program files to the same location on the other computer, and they've worked fine (such as with Dawn of War).  Though I'm not sure if this will work with Spore, especially if it normally installs registry keys and other stuff I know nothing about.

Offline Uroboros

  • Duck Hunter
  • *****
  • Posts: 3060
  • Am I awake?
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2010, 10:02:05 am »
I'm way late here, but I tried to backup all my Spore files, when I was doing a full format of my computer. Putting all the files back into the appropriate directories didn't restore my galaxy or well... anything. In fact, when reinstalling everything from scratch and just letting it download all my own stuff, and all the friends/subscribed stuff, it didn't even get that right. It would often stop downloading things, as in, it finished trying, and only a fraction of my creations were there, and some of my friends had hundreds of items missing. Trying to manually import them didn't work, and for 'my creations', anything that did work, wasn't under the my creations tab any more. I had to remove all my friends and constantly delete my cache files every time it refused to download my creations, to retry, then after that, I had to re-add my friends one by one so it could exclusively focus on downloading their material without borking.

It isn't pretty. Prepare to lose your galaxy and start over. :I

Offline Lush City

  • Crystal Castle Gem Eater
  • *****
  • Posts: 2774
  • Get those blasted Power Rangers!
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2010, 10:38:20 am »
When doing that, can the original galxy still be played on the first computer?

Offline Uroboros

  • Duck Hunter
  • *****
  • Posts: 3060
  • Am I awake?
    • View Profile
Re: Spore Transfer
« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2010, 11:32:19 am »
Well yeah, so long as you keep the files where they are when you attempt your copy/paste.