Gaming Steve

Review Archives - Page 4

February 14, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 38 - 02.14.2006

DarwiniaThis week I talk about my upcoming interview with the The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion team, I review Darwinia (another IGF Competition Finalist), answer lots of audio questions, and so much more. Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 38 Program

  • 00:03:17 Game News:
    • Crystal Quest shoot onto Xbox 360 Arcade, but it isn't the same Quest as before.
    • The DS to support voice chat.
    • "Hasta la Vista Baby" ... Halo 2 heading to PC.
    • DS download stations coming Stateside.
    • Half-Life 2 becomes episodic.
    • Solitaire games gets NYC worker fired.
    • Xbox 360 shortages coming to an end?
    • A look at the January top 20 console sales.
  • 00:25:18 SporeTalk: A quick overview of what the heck is Spore anyhow? And some info on the Spore demo.
  • 00:41:35 Game Review: Darwinia for the PC.
  • 00:52:12 RetroReview: Command & Conquer for the PC, Macintosh, Nintendo 64, PlayStation, and Saturn.
  • 01:02:43 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:07:36 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 01:57:41 Final Thoughts: What do you do when you get into the gaming doldrums?
Download the show (124 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 38 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 11:45 PM | Posted to Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

February 6, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 37 - 02.06.2006

Weird Worlds: Return to Infinite SpaceThis week I talk about Diablo III and Starcraft 2, give details about my upcoming talks at I-CON 25, review an IGF Competition Finalist, answer a ton of show mail, and so much more. Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 37 Program

  • 00:06:08 Game News:
    • New DS hitting Japan this March.
    • The US gets Brainy this spring.
    • Xbox 360 loses the remote.
    • Stargate enters the MMO universe.
    • Blizzard stirring up hell recruiting for the Diablo team.
    • The Empire strikes gold.
    • S.T.A.L.K.E.R. and Supreme Commander delayed until 2007.
    • PCs to be Condemned this spring.
  • 00:29:13 SporeTalk: I answer lots of questions about Spore.
  • 00:38:19 Game Review: Weird Worlds: Return to Infinite Space for the PC.
  • 00:49:42 RetroReview: Aliens vs. Predator 2 for the PC.
  • 00:56:47 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:02:28 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 01:46:00 Final Thoughts: Results from last week's Final Thoughts contest, why Starcraft 2 isn't coming any time soon, and more.
Download the show (113 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 37 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 1:00 AM | Posted to Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

January 25, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 36 - 01.25.2006

Dragon Quest VIIIThis week I give details about the first official Gaming Steve Tournament for Mario Kart DS, a new contest about your "funniest" gaming moment, and answer a ton of show mail.

Gaming Steve Episode 36 Program

  • 00:04:17 Game News:
    • GameStop expects to fulfill 360 orders in February (but not online or EB Games orders).
    • Give thanks, the Revolution to be released by Thanksgiving.
    • Majesco no longer a "premium" publisher.
    • WoW nabs millionth European customer and more than 5.5 million worldwide.
    • China's online game regulations relaxed.
    • Gizmondo Europe bankrupt.
    • Heroes of Might and Magic V beta now open.
    • E3 dresses up the babes and games.
    • Nintendo snags 3 million online.
    • New Mother has a date.
    • 50 Cent sells through a million.
    • Star Trek: Legacy to beam onto PCs and the 360.
    • Sony zips up Zipper.
  • 00:31:12 SporeTalk: I answer lots of questions about Spore.
  • 00:41:09 Game Review: Dragon Quest VIII for the PlayStation 2.
  • 00:58:32 RetroReview: Baldur's Gate II for the PC.
  • 01:10:47 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:14:26 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 02:01:11 Final Thoughts: A new contest and details about the Gaming Steve Mario Kart DS Tournament.
Download the show (126 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 36 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 9:00 PM | Posted to Classic | Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

January 18, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 35 - 01.18.2006

Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan!This week I review a Japanese import for the Nintendo DS and actually play it on the show. The results are, err, interesting. Also the results from the "Final Thoughts Contest" from a few weeks ago and the list of your favorite games of 2005.

Gaming Steve Episode 35 Program

  • 00:01:45 Game News:
    • BloodRayne opening declared "a debacle".
    • EA trademarks "System Shock".
    • The Tetris are coming! The Tetris are coming!
    • 25 to Life (anyone remember this game?) is released.
    • 2005 a record year for US console gaming.
    • 2005 is also a record year in the UK.
    • Meanwhile Nintendo totally owns Japan in 2005.
    • US PC sales drop 14 percent.
  • 00:21:29 GameTalk: What is the future of PC gaming?
  • 00:36:33 SporeTalk: I answer lots of questions about Spore.
  • 00:47:43 Game Review: Osu! Tatakae! Ouendan! for the Nintendo DS.
  • 00:56:30 RetroReview: System Shock 2 for the PC.
  • 01:06:10 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:09:06 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 01:46:00 Final Thoughts: Results of the "Final Thoughts Contest" from a few weeks ago, what were your best games of 2005, and getting "into the gaming zone".
Download the show (118 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 35 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 8:00 PM | Comments (4) | Posted to Classic | Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

January 3, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 33 - 01.03.2006

Gaming Steve Spore Recruit TribetoolsWhy not start off the new year with a healthy dose of some Gaming Steve? I'm back with the first podcast of 2006, enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 33 Program

  • 00:02:17 Game News:
    • Pokemon USA threatens to sue cancer researchers.
    • World of Warcraft pop 5 million and counting.
    • Monster WOW patch released.
    • G4 takes on Trek.
    • EA adjusts earnings downward.
    • NHL checks EA exclusivity offer.
    • Judge blocks California game law.
    • Jack Thompson buys shares in Take-Two.
    • Video games get commemorative postage stamps.
    • Why was Take-Two's Paul Eibeler the "Worst CEO of 2005"?
  • 00:35:03 GameTalk: Too much mail! Moved this week to the Show Mail segment.
  • 00:35:53 SporeTalk: A look at my third exclusive Spore artwork and important Spore-related dates.
  • 00:42:19 Game Review: Condemned: Criminal Origins for the Xbox 360.
  • 00:58:30 RetroReview: The Bard's Tale for the IBM PC, Apple ][, Apple ][GS, Commodore 64, Atari ST, Amstrad CPC, Amiga, NES, Macintosh, and Sinclair ZX.
  • 01:11:33 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:14:14 Show Mail: I answer your many email questions.
  • 02:13:12 Final Thoughts on ... does anyone listen to this section?
Download the show (136 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 33 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 10:00 PM | Posted to Classic | Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

December 19, 2005

Gaming Steve Episode 31 - 12.19.2005

Mario & Luigi: Partners in TimeHappy Holidays everyone! And as my gift to you I give you the biggest damn show I have ever done! Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 31 Program

  • 00:05:28 Game News:
    • IGF nominees announced.
    • EverQuest goes Titanium.
    • Working Designs closes up shop.
    • Midway closes Aussie and San Diego studios.
    • Xbox 360 fails to impress Japan.
    • November game sales down 18 percent.
    • Activision warns of "significantly lower" earnings.
    • NCsoft and Marvel make nice.
    • Jamdat investor sues to stop EA purchase.
    • Wik swings onto Xbox Live Arcade.
    • Civil suit in Alabama goes forward.
    • eBayer pays big bucks for photo of Xbox 360.
  • 00:47:53 GameTalk: Are we heading towards another video game crash?
  • 01:17:07 SporeTalk: A look at my second exclusive Spore artwork and I answer some questions.
  • 01:27:30 Game Review: Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time for the Nintendo DS.
  • 01:37:47 Game Review: Shadow of the Colossus for the PlayStation 2.
  • 01:47:07 RetroReview: Hercules for the arcade.
  • 01:52:19 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a mystery prize!
  • 01:56:09 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 02:37:42 Final Thoughts on the new T-Shirt designs and the new Gaming Steve Spore website.
Download the show (164 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 31 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 3:00 PM | Posted to Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

December 10, 2005

Gaming Steve Episode 30 - 12.10.2005

Spore Fire Tribetools Level 1I'm back from vacation with a monster episode and a little bit of everything. Exclusive Spore design artwork (with more to come!), I take answer your questions, I review the 360 and more!

Gaming Steve Episode 30 Program

  • 00:02:35 Game News:
    • Xbox 360 has rocky start at retail.
    • Revolution to be unveiled in May.
    • Ten most violent games named.
    • Stainless Steel Studios and Digital Anvil are melted down.
    • Xbox 360 lands across the pond.
    • Defective 360s? Here comes the lawsuits.
    • Illinois game laws overturned.
    • ESRB fails the grade.
    • EA swallows Jamdat.
    • Clinton introducing federal game regulation.
  • 00:36:00 GameTalk: The end of games as we know it?
  • 00:56:27 SporeTalk: A look at my exclusive Spore artwork and the evolution of design.
  • 01:04:43 Game Review: The Xbox 360 system.
  • 01:33:42 RetroReview: Coleco Telstar systems.
  • 01:43:31 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a mystery prize!
  • 01:47:52 Show Mail: I answer your audio questions.
  • 02:09:22 Final Thoughts on the T-Shirt design contest and playing games while on vacation.
Download the show (135 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 30 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 11:30 PM | Posted to Classic | Podcast | Review | Spore | Xbox |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

November 18, 2005

Gaming Steve Episode 27 - 11.18.2005

City of Villains - Dominator with Venus FlytrapWelcome to the bonus episode of Gaming Steve. This was actually part of the last episode but it was so big that I had to cut it into two. Make sure to listen to the details on the Gaming Steve T-Shirt design contest and join our Frappr! family. Enjoy the bonus goodness!

Gaming Steve Episode 27 Program

  • 00:04:02 Game News:
    • PlayStation 3 won't play borrowed, used, or rented games?
    • Jack leaves on his own terms.
    • World domination of Warcraft continues.
    • Man profits from virtual island.
    • 360s in short supply.
    • 360 to play 200+ Xbox games in US but ...
    • ... Japan only gets 12 games and ...
    • ... Europe gets 156 games.
    • Xbox 360 midnight madness.
    • Darwinian evolves onto Steam.
    • Nintendo Wi-Fi hits speed bump.
    • EA slashes prices.
    • What is ... World of Warcraft?
    • Rare's Perfect gamble.
  • 00:42:10 GameTalk: How is the industry changing?
  • 01:03:04 SporeTalk: Tell me what you want to hear.
  • 01:08:08 Game Review: City of Villains for the PC.
  • 01:24:39 RetroReview: Chiller for the arcade.
  • 01:33:15 RetroReview: Death Race for the arcade.
  • 01:36:10 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a mystery prize!
  • 01:42:53 Final Thoughts on Gaming Steve Frappr, the T-Shirt design contest, help me in testing out iTunes, and my Xbox 360 coverage next week.
Download the show (112 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 27 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 2:00 PM | Posted to Classic | PC | Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

November 7, 2005

Gaming Steve Episode 25 - 11.07.2005

Civilization 4I guess I have totally given up on trying to make the show shorter as every time I try it just ends up longer. Oh well, enjoy this week's gaming goodness.

Gaming Steve Episode 25 Program

  • 00:01:36 Game News:
    • Xbox.com is reborn.
    • Video Games Live canceled ... again.
    • Peter Jackson POed with EA.
    • Virtual property sells for $100k.
    • Uwe Boll splits Dungeon Siege movie (Ed note: after the show was recorded Uwe changed his mind and will now release one 2 hour and 40 minute movie instead).
    • Blizzard fires up the Burning Crusade.
    • Star Wars Galaxies commits seppuku.
    • Sony Online developing "free" MMO.
    • City of Villains unleashes its evil on the world.
    • Elder Scrolls IV missing Xbox 360 launch.
    • Sony starts selling PSP Media Manager.
    • Starcraft: Ghost skipping GameCube.
    • Xbox 360 Lounge opens in Tokyo.
    • Doh! EA snags The Simpsons for next-gen.
    • Bioware and Pandemic form partnership.
    • EA announces Command & Conquer 12-pack.
  • 00:46:08 GameTalk: I answer lots of viewer questions.
  • 01:18:34 SporeTalk: A new picture from the "E3 Spore Room".
  • 01:20:00 Game Review: Civilization IV for the PC.
  • 01:38:56 Game Review: Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney for the Nintendo DS.
  • 01:45:04 RetroReview: LaserDisc arcade games.
  • 01:51:34 RetroReview: Dragon's Lair for the arcade.
  • 01:59:18 RetroReview: Space Ace for the arcade.
  • 02:04:58 RetroReview: Dragon's Lair II: Timewarp for the arcade.
  • 02:10:40 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a mystery prize!
  • 02:15:50 Final Thoughts on the new podcast setup, send me your questions, and site email.
Download the show (145 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 25 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 1:00 AM | Posted to Classic | Podcast | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

November 2, 2005

Guitar Hero to Rock Your PlayStation 2

Guitar HeroSamba De Amigo was one of the very first rhythm games ever released way back in June 2000 (six months before Dance Dance Revolution came to the states) and although it received excellent reviews it didn't sell that many copies. Not only was it a Dreamcast exclusive (ouch) but perhaps there just wasn't that large of a demand for a maracas simulator. But for the handful of people who actually played the game had a memorable time as the maracas were a lot of fun and multiplayer was a blast.

Well move over Samba De Amigo ... you have meet your match!

The new PlayStation 2 game Guitar Hero arrives in stores today and it comes with its very own guitar controller! Now that is just freaking cool. So far the reviews have been excellent with GameSpot saying "Guitar Hero plays fantastically, it has great music, and, for a change, it's a rhythm game that's accessible to beginners." The game's music selection contains tons of headbanging rock, and it was developed by Harmonix, makers of the fantastic rhythm games Frequency and Amplitude, need I say more?

The only downside? The price of the Guitar Hero Bundle (game and controller) is a little expensive at $70, but if history is any indication of games with crazy special controllers usually retain their "ebay value" over time. And with $60 Xbox 360 games right around the corner $70 doesn't seem that expensive ... did I mention that it comes with freaking guitar!

If you've ever been interested in the rhythm genre, this is the game to buy. Get it now!

Posted by Gaming Steve at 1:00 AM | Posted to PlayStation 2 | Review |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!