Gaming Steve

Preview Archives - Page 1

January 16, 2008

Clayton's Top 10 Most Anticipated Games of the Next 3 Months

2007 was a fantastic year of gaming, one filled with games I still have yet to play. But 2008 is already looking like a another great year for gaming, one filled with many potential triple-A titles. I was prepared to write up a list of my 10 most anticipated games of the whole year but I quickly found 10 coming out before April that I'm dying to play.

10. Bully: Scholarship Edition (Xbox 360, Wii)
Bully: Scholarship EditionI have always appreciated Rockstar's ability to make interesting characters, witty dialog, and deep stories more than anything else they do. The Grand Theft Auto games always had an entertaining, well written story beneath all the prostitute killing and car jacking, so I'm really looking forward seeing what Rockstar did with Bully.

I missed Bully back on the PS2, so I'm happy for its re-release on the Xbox 360 and Wii, with added content and updated graphics. Mostly known for its media backlash before even being released, the original game focused on tough kid Jimmy Hopkins, who's been sent to Bullsworth Academy after being expelled from seven other schools.

Consisting of the sandbox style gameplay known from the GTA games, Bully takes you through high school culture using a wide variety of gameplay including schoolyard combat, bicycle riding, childhood crushes, and school pranks to name just a few. Jimmy interacts with five groups at the school, ranging from preps to jocks to nerds, while teachers and adults outside the school also give Jimmy missions to complete. While the gameplay looks varied, what I'm really looking forward too is the excellent voice acting, story, and interesting characters, something I wish more developers would spend time on.

Release Date: March 4, 2008

9. Devil May Cry 4 (PS3, Xbox 360)
Devil May Cry 4I'll have to admit right up front: I have yet to play any games in the Devil May Cry series. From what I have seen an heard about Devil May Cry 4, I know it's going to be my first. The game will let player use both the series star demon slayer Dante and new comer Nero, whom players will use for the majority of the game. Using his “demonically enhanced” right arm, Nero will be able use enemies as shields, tear them in half, or use it as a grappling hook in between combat.

Devil May Cry 4 promises to continue the story of the series (Devil May Cry 3 was a prequel), and at least on the PS3, the game allow players to watch a summary of the series story so far, while the game installs a cache onto the hard drive to eliminate all loading during game. Perhaps my favorite new feature is the addition of both a more balanced difficulty level and an actual tutorial to teach you the combat. With this and Ninja Gaiden 2, 2008 looks like a good year for action games.

Release Date: February 5, 2008

8. Command & Conquer 3: Kane's Wrath (PC, Xbox 360)
Command & Conquer 3: Kane's WrathAnyone remember the previous Command & Conquer game, Generals? While an interesting diversion for the series, it didn't really find its place until the excellent expansion pack, Zero Hour. By dividing up each faction into three sub-factions led by specific generals with specific concentrations, the game really found its footing. This is what Kane's Wrath intends to do, by dividing up the three factions of Command & Conquer 3 into specialized sub-factions which will have unique special units, upgrades and support powers designed to cater to more distinct styles of play. Find yourself using NODs stealth abilities often? Then maybe you'll enjoy "The Marked of Kane" sub-division. Love GDI's incredible fire power? Then "The Steel Talons" are just for you!

In addition to their new regular units, each side will be getting unique hero-type “Epic Units”. The idea of hulking monstrosities that can single handedly “turn the tide of a battle”, from the Scrin's Eradicator to NOD's Redeemer, just fills me with joy. Of course, it also helps that the original Command & Conquer 3 was a fantastic game in it's own right, but with new units, abilities, and a Risk style “Conquer the World” campaign, where can you go wrong? And don't worry, there will be plenty more of the fantastic cut-scenes featuring Joseph Kucan as NODs messiah, Kane.

Release Date: March 13, 2008

7. Advance Wars: Days of Ruin (DS)
Advance Wars: Days of RuinPerhaps my favorite DS game of all time, Advanced Wars: Dual Strike was a fantastic turn based strategy game with cartoony graphics and larger than life characters. Days of Ruin bucks the previous games style (and the annoying DS naming acronym Nintendo apparently forced on developers for the DS's first couple of years) in favor a darker and more serious tone.

An entire new cast of characters and therefore new CO powers means a fresh new set of strategies to try. CO powers have also been toned down and tag team powers eliminated so that the game can't be won in a single turn, something that greatly annoyed me during Dual Strike's campaign. The units have been rebalanced and some new ones have been added, but the biggest improvement is the Wi-Fi multiplayer. Players will be able to play games over Nintendo's Wi-Fi Connection service, complete with voice chat and map sharing. Another added multiplayer feature that is conversely low tech is the ability to simply pass the DS each turn for local multiplayer, something every turn based game on a portable should have.

Release Date: January 21, 2008

6. Rez HD (Xbox 360 Live Arcade)
Rez HDI'll have to admit I never got the chance to play the original Rez, but hearing it on so many peoples top ten games of all time lists, I feel I need to at least give it a try. In the simplest terms, the game is an on rails shooter where your “weaponry” adds to the pulsing soundtrack. The game is said to put you in a trance and even give you a mild sense of synesthesia, meaning you “hear colors” and “see sounds”.

Perhaps I am looking at this game too pretentiously, but since I loved Lumines, a game also created by Rez's creator Tetsuya Mizuguchi, I know that there is some real creative talent behind the game. Whether I like it or not, it's one of those games I feel I need to play for myself. Updated HD graphics and an 800 MS Point (10$) price tag only sweetens the deal. You'll also be able to use your extra Xbox 360 controllers as “Trance Vibrators” to... well... “enhance the experience”.

Release Date: January 2008

5. Burnout: Paradise (Xbox 360, PS3)
Burnout: ParadiseI'm not a big fan of racing games. Any time I play Gran Turismo I just end up turning my car around and trying to run head on into the competition. However, the Burnout series tapped into my inner need to smash cars together, making Burnout 3: Takedown one of my favorite PS2 games of all time. Burnout: Paradise looks to take the frenetic car crashing gameplay the series is known for into the current generation, while adding in an improved free roaming city in the style of Need for Speed: Underground 2.

What do I mean by an improved “free roaming city”? How about absolutely no front end. As in no menu screens or server lobbies to navigate through in order to find races or jump online. Just pull up to any stop light in the game and press accelerate and reverse at the same time to start an event. The game also allows players to join their friends in their own version of Paradise City to crash and compete all without stopping their driving, an impressive technical achievement in its own right. Gorgeous graphics and an extensive collection of super destructible cars will make this the racing game to beat in 2008. A demo is available on both consoles, and I highly recommend playing it online to see what makes that game so great.

Release Date: January 22, 2008

4. Condemned 2: Blood Shot (Xbox 360, PS3)
Condemned 2: Blood ShotThe sequel to the Xbox 360's best launch title, Condemned 2: Blood Shot will probably be the scariest game of the year. The original was a creepy, atmospheric First Person Shooter ... although "First Person Shooter" doesn't fully describe its gameplay. Using melee weapons found in the environment such as wrenches, locker doors, and fire axes, you used timing-based combat to attack and counter enemy attacks. Gunplay was extremely limited as you couldn't reload your guns, so it was literally "fire and forget". The close combat gameplay, limited ammo, and a deviously small flashlight beam combined to created an overwhelmingly tense feeling throughout the entire game – where a crazed hobo or junkie could jump out and attack you at any time.

Bloodshot looks to add to the melee combat with defensive and offensive moves, as well as extensive combo chains. More than 40 brutal finishing moves, and “upgrades” including brass knuckles and steel tipped boots (I can only imagine the carnage those will cause) have also been added. An interesting multiplayer option has also new the the sequel, with a “Hobo Fighting Arena” and traditional Death Match where you unlock more weapons after finding them in the single player game. The game will also continue the story of detective Ethan Thomas, one year after the mysterious events of the first game. Cool forensic investigations and paranormal occurrences from the original created one of the more interesting stories in an FPS in a while, one I look forward to continuing soon.

Release Date: March 11, 2008

3. Culdcept: Saga (Xbox 360)
Culdcept: SagaXbox Live demos are perhaps the best feature the service has to offer besides multiplayer gaming. Without them, I would never have found the inexplicable joy of the Monopoly and Collectible Card Game concoction that is Culdcept: Saga. With dice rolls, property upgrades, magic, and monsters, Culdcept: Saga is definitely not what you expect to be released on the Xbox 360.

Consisting of a game board made up of four distinct elements where you summon monsters to protect you territory, and a deck of magic, monster, and weapon cards you get to build, the gameplay is unlike anything else you might have seen on the console. You win the game by obtaining a set amount of gold, which you have to gain by moving around the board, capturing territory, and forcing your opponents to pay a toll when they land on your territory. However, instead of hotels and motels you collect rent using demons and dragons.

When one player lands on another's territory, battle commences where you use monsters and additional armor, weapon, and magic cards to avoid paying the toll (and steal their territory). With the added randomness of dice rolls, the gameplay takes on a very unique feel, where a game can be completely turned around by a lucky roll. And nothing is more satisfying that having you opponent land on your thrice upgraded territory and beaten down by your ax-wielding minotaur. Always wished you could do that in Monopoly, don't you?

Release Date: February 5, 2008

2. Sins of a Solar Empire (PC)
Sins of a Solar EmpireLove Homeworld 2? Also love Galactic Civilizations 2? Then have I found the dream game for your! Featuring epic real time space battles with extensive 4X (eXplore, eXpand, eXploit and eXterminate) style strategy, this game should be high up on any strategy gamers list. Being published by Stardock, makers of the excellent Galactic Civilizations series (think Sid Meier's Civilization series, only in space), and developed by new studio Ironclad Games, the game aims to let players control massive galactic civilizations spanning multiple planets and controlling numerous spaceship fleets.

With research trees, colony improvements, and diplomacy, everything you expect from turn based strategy games is to be found here, but lets not forget the giant spaceships are so awesome: the epic, cinematic, and explosive battles. Combat takes a page out of Homeworld 2's book and presents some interesting ideas, including Capitol ships that gain experience, battles taking place within the gravity wells of planets, and helpful AI that knows which ship to attack and which it has no chance against. This game has the chance to replace Homeworld 2 on my laptop hard drive.

Release date: February 4, 2008

1. Beyond the Red Line (PC, Mac)
Beyond the Red LineBeing the huge Battlestar Galactica fan that I am, I couldn't help but to list this one here, even if the release date is technically “when it's done”. And even if you aren't a fan of Battlestar Galactica, here's another reason to be on the lookout for this game: it's completely free. A stand alone total conversion for the PC space flight sim Freespace 2, Beyond the Red Line puts you right in the cockpit of the Viper Mk II, Viper Mk VII, Raider, and possibly more as the game nears release. Weaving in and in between the events of the excellent show, you'll be hunting down Scar, defending the Galactica from Cylons Basestars, and securing Tillium ore for the fleet.

While it doesn't have the exacting Newtonian physics from the show, it does have a pretty good alternative that allows you conserve your inertia for some tricky maneuvers. Oozing quality, from its excellent graphics, spoken dialog, and a soundtrack both from the show and originally composed, it's amazing that this game is just being given away. A demo is available with three single player missions and multiplayer mode and I've found it works really well with an Xbox 360 controller plugged into your PC.

Release Date: Pray to the Gods it is soon!

Honorable Mentions

Super Smash Bros. Brawl (Wii) – I never got into the previous games as much as my friends, and their being so much better than me makes it a pretty unfair (and unfun) fight. Maybe with Brawl I can concentrate my time into one character (Solid Snake!) and at least have a fighting chance.

Left 4 Dead (PC, Xbox 360, PS3) – I originally had this game in the list at number 3, since it had a tenuous Q1 2008 release date. I thought it was funny to point out how notorious Valve is for delaying games and I guess I just tempted fate: the game was pushed back to the summer before I finished my article.

Castle Crashers (Xbox Live Arcade) – A beautiful looking arcade games that has been delayed multiple times now, I just hope we can play it before the end of the year. Awesome looking multiplayer action from the people that brought you Alien Hominid, Rez HD faces stiff competition for my Microsoft Points.

Posted by Clayton Ashley at 10:30 AM | Comments (21) | Posted to DS | Feature | PC | PlayStation 3 | Preview | Wii | Xbox |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

January 13, 2008

Assassin's Creed DS Details & Screens Emerge

Assassin's Creed DS

It's been known for quite some time now that Assassin's Creed was coming to the DS, but would it just be a port of the next-generation assassination game, or an all new game itself? Details have begun to emerge and it appears as if Assassin's Creed in handheld form will prove to be a somewhat new experience.

The game is being developed by Gameloft, a studio widely known for their mobile phone games. This version of Assassin's Creed is set prior to the console versions of the game, and will still include acrobatic moves, stealth assassinations, interrogations, sword fighting, and combos; all in a 3D environment. You'll also be able to use the stylus for interrogations ... whatever that means or entails (that should be interesting).

I personally was a huge fan of Assassin's Creed, and despite the repetitive gameplay, found it to be a great game. I hope the DS version of the game isn't too watered down and simply trying to sell based on the now-known Assassin's Creed name. Either way, I'm sure I'll be giving it a shot; how about you?

Posted by Steven Mills at 6:30 AM | Comments (3) | Posted to DS | Preview |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

December 19, 2007

Hell Has Frozen Over: Duke Nukem Forever Teaser Trailer Coming Today

Duke Nukem Forever

After a flood of emails this morning it seems that I have to mention this on the site. Yesterday 3D Realms' George Broussard posted this on the official forum:

"Last Saturday we had our annual company Christmas party. It was a lot of fun as usual but it featured one special surprise. It turns out that several people had been secretly working late nights and into the wee hours of the morning preparing a special video for those at the party. They created a short teaser for Duke Nukem Forever.

After seeing the teaser we thought it was something we should share with all of you and while it's just a teaser, rest assured more is coming."

New York Magazine has this great feature where every week they take items in popular culture and rank ranging from "Pre-Buzz" (i.e. Gears of War 2) all the way to my personal favorite, "Backlash to the Bachlash" where something is so criticized that it actually gets back into favor with everyone. I think Duke Nukem Forever will actually fall in this category.

3D Realms was able to pull off Prey after years of delay, I think they can do it with DNF as well. They have the money, the resources, they've done it once already, and I think people want a great DNF game. I know I do. Come get some!

Posted by Gaming Steve at 8:15 AM | Comments (10) | Posted to PC | Preview |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

September 19, 2007

MySims EA Site Visit

MySimsEA games held its first Blogger’s Day Event and I was one of the lucky 7 who got to attend. We all gathered at the headquarters in Redwood City, CA to get a preview of the new MySims game and meet the game developers ... a Sims game unlike any other.

Our day started with a tour of the EA campus and soon we found ourselves in a conference room surrounded by a new breed of Sims. Unlike other versions of The Sims, MySims was created exclusively for the Nintendo platform for release on both the Wii and the DS. With that in mind, the Sims was recreated to appeal to the Nintendo audience while holding on to the hallmark appeal of the original Sims game.

Like other Sims games you start the game playing one Sim which is customizable within the create-a-sim menu. The main head shape stays the same but you can change other unique features to make your Sim all your own. You can change their hair, skin tone, clothing, and even the voice from one of six different options. These little Sims are gender neutral so you can get really crazy with their look. And unlike other Sims games these Sims are cute ... really cute ... like a puppy sitting in a flowerbed holding a rubber toy in its mouth cute.

Of course there are options for additional personal items, such as eye glasses and facial marks. My Sim ended up in a skirt with a beard, a monocle and a spider tattoo on its cheek. There are more than enough options so that you can make your little Sim a mini-version of yourself which was a main goal of the development team (which, of course, they made several versions of themselves and their family members.)

Once your Sim is complete you begin the game within to a rundown town with your main goal to bring the town back to life and earn a "five star "status. You can improve the town by talking to other Sims and completing tasks for them, such as finding items, building things, giving them gifts, and so forth. The happier the Sims the more the town improves and more options become available to you.

As the town improves new Sims will show up (with new tasks for you, of course!). The game supports a total of 80 Sims but you can only have 27 Sims to your town at once so you need to plan your tasks accordingly as well as find and unlock the other Sims.

As for those of you out there who like to kill or torture their Sims, well, you can’t do that. They also don’t Woo Hoo or make babies but you still can mess with them and make them unhappy if you really want. You have four main interactions -- talk, be nice, be mean and give stuff. Each Sim has two likes and one dislike, so using these interactions and some creative responses you can make your Sims quite happy, or very upset. The choice is yours.

But there is so much more which you can do in this game besides making other Sims happy. You can fish, plant trees and prospect for cool new items. You can also unlock assets such clothing and blueprints by making friends with the Town Sims. Next to your house you have a workshop where you use your blueprints to build furniture and other objects. With a blueprint you can create a base object and then mix and match other pieces to create a uniquely different object. The more you play, the more building pieces you will unlock. Of course once you’ve made your creation, you can paint it with various colors and textures to truly make it your own.

There are no "simoleans" currency in version of The Sims but instead uses something called “Essenses”. There are six main Essences -- Cute, Geeky, Studious, Spooky, Tasty and Fun. All the objects are related to one of these essences and they are used to create furniture, paint walls and floors. Part of the fun is mixing and matching essences when creating new objects.

There are small differences between the Wii and DS versions, such as the DS version takes place at a seaside resort. Hence, the game plays slightly differently on each platform. At the resort you get to explore, meet and help the guests, design clothes and furniture and play mini games to earn money. One of the 10 mini games can be downloaded to a friend’s DS so they can play it without having the Sim game but it’s only playable while your DS is running.

The game was a lot of fun to play and all of us were laughing at the creations we made. Though it’s not a multiplayer game, it’s still fun to play with other people around to share the experience. It’s as much fun to watch as it is to play. The music was very pleasant and each location had its own unique tune so you could tell where you were just by listening to the song. Plus there is a ton of unlockable items, including new playable areas including a desert and a forest.

The game shipped today and although MySims is unlike other Sims creations it has enough "Sims flavor" to interest the diehard Sims fan. Hours of fun for the whole family.

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

My Sims EA Visit

Posted by LadyM at 9:00 PM | Comments (21) | Posted to DS | Preview | Wii |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

March 27, 2007

Gaming Steve Episode 63 - 03.27.2007

Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium WarsSo what happens when two of the most anticipated games of the year -- Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars and The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles -- come out on the same day? Well I guess I'll just have to feature interviews with the developers of BOTH games on my show!

Oh yeah, and don't miss the cameos by Billy Dee Williams, Tricia Helfer and Joe Kucan (Kane himself!) throughout the show. Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 63 Program

  • 00:05:53 Game News:
    • February US games sales up and everyone wins!
    • Take-Two takes the fight to Thompson.
    • Take-Two for sale?
    • Xbox 360 becoming Elite?
    • You Don't Know Jack moves online for free!
    • Microsoft probes possible Xbox Live fraud.
    • New Wii browser incoming.
    • PS3 finally hits the UK ... and does really well.
  • 00:26:30 Interview: Amer Ajami, Producer for Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars from EA.
  • 00:42:52 Interview: Bruce Nesmith, Design Director for The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles from Besthesda Softworks.
  • 01:22:17 Game Preview: The Elder Scrolls IV: Shivering Isles for the PC and Xbox 360.
  • 01:26:03 Review: Command & Conquer 3 Tiberium Wars for the PC.
  • 01:37:21 Show Mail: I answer your email questions (send me some new audio questions!).
  • 01:50:56 Final Thoughts: Oh yeah, I forgot to do Name That Game this week, sorry about that!
Download the show (115 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 63 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 12:00 PM | Posted to Interview | Podcast | Preview | Review |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

July 18, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 57 - 07.18.2006

PreyDon't worry everyone, I didn't go anywhere. I just had a series of unfortunate events, but here's a new show ... just for you! Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 57 Program

  • 00:08:17 Game News:
    • Now you can move from Azeroth ... for a price.
    • When will we see the Wii?
    • Sony white PSP ad draws fire.
    • Street Fighter II and other classic games announced.
    • Pokemon to go online.
    • No games for Zune?
    • Driver abandons the Atari ship.
    • Target pulls UMDs.
    • EA announces yet another Lord of the Rings again.
    • Sony slapped with another patent suit.
    • June sales way up.
  • 00:36:52 Game Preview: Maelstrom for the PC.
  • 00:39:08 Game Preview: ATI press event.
  • 00:43:16 Review: Prey for the PC and Xbox 360.
  • 00:52:06 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and the always cool prize!
  • lili
  • 00:55:41 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 01:40:19 Final Thoughts: Doom RPG is awesome ... who knew?
Download the show (105 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 57 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 4:00 PM | Comments (35) | Posted to Podcast | Preview | Review |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

June 19, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 56 - 06.19.2006

Louis Castle and Peter MooreNow this is a show! I got Peter Moore, I got a preview of the first RTS for the Xbox 360, I got a review of the Nintendo DS, I got an interview with the godfather of RTS, Louis Castle, I got you a detailed overview of Microsoft Game Studios in Seattle ... I got a lot. Enough with the talk, on with the show!

Gaming Steve Episode 56 Program

  • 00:03:15 Game News:
    • Dungeons & Dragons Online goes solo.
    • Wii price and date to be announced ... by September.
    • EVE Online invades China big time.
    • Dragon's Lair goes HD.
    • Blizzard making everything into an MMO?
    • DS Lite sells 136k in first two days.
    • Tim Schafer demands 360-compatible Psychonauts.
    • Spore spreads to mobile phones (again).
    • Lara Croft is coming back.
    • Microsoft is working on a handheld ... what exactly?
  • 00:31:54 Interview: Peter Moore, Corporate Vice President of Microsoft Interactive Entertainment Business in the Entertainment and Devices Division. Oh yeah, and he also runs something called the Xbox 360.
  • 01:07:36 Game Preview: The Battle for Middle Earth II for the Xbox 360.
  • 01:22:56 Interview: Louis Castle, Vice President of Creative Development for Electronic Arts and the creator of such classics as Dune II and Command & Conquer.
  • 01:34:56 Review: Nintendo DS Lite.
  • 01:41:25 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and the always cool prize!
  • li
  • 01:45:34 Show Mail: I answer your audio questions.
  • 02:19:23 Final Thoughts: Digital download is just awesome.
Download the show (145 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 56 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 5:00 PM | Posted to DS | Interview | Podcast | Preview | Review | Xbox |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

April 25, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 49 - 04.25.2006

Brain AgeIt seems like E3 is just a few weeks away ... oh wait. It is just a few weeks away! So what surprises await the gaming masses at this year's E3? PS3, Revolution, Halo 3, Spore, what news is going to make the big headlines in a few weeks? This week I take a look to E3 and what we should expect to hear.

Also big news as I join forces with Xfire and their 4 million users to bring you all my E3 coverage this year. Four million people .. that is a lot of new people to the site. Enjoy the show!

Gaming Steve Episode 49 Program

  • 00:02:45 Game News:
    • Disciples III reborn.
    • Guitar Hero gets an encore.
    • Command & Conquer 3 coming.
    • Sony shaves $20 off the cost of PS2.
    • Heroes of Might and Magic strikes gold.
    • Guild Wars characters for sale.
    • Xbox 360 getting new CPU.
    • Play Dungeons & Dragons Online free for a week.
    • Yet more downloadable content available for Oblivion.
    • Silent Hill scares up $20 million.
    • Viacom to acquire Xfire.
  • 00:32:30 E3 Preview: What are the hottest games going to be at E3 this year?
  • 00:41:32 RetroReview: Caesar III for the PC.
  • 00:47:07 Game Review: Brain Age: Train Your Brain in Minutes a Day for Nintendo DS.
  • 00:52:48 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and the always cool prize!
  • 00:54:48 Show Mail: I answer your audio and email questions.
  • 01:29:10 Final Thoughts: Gaming Steve and Xfire? And what to expect at E3?
Download the show (97 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 49 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 5:00 PM | Comments (28) | Posted to Podcast | Preview | Review |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

March 7, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 41 - 03.07.2006

Gaming Steve New Cover ArtThis week I provide the second part of my hands-on preview of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, talk about some of the changes on the site and podcast after one year, and a new person joins the Gaming Steve forums. You might know him, he goes by the name Will Wright and made a game called The Sims or something.... Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 41 Program

  • 00:07:02 Game News:
    • Sony sells the Metreon.
    • Red 5 Studios and Webzen sign a deal.
    • Dungeons & Dragons Online launches.
    • World of Warcraft hits 6 million and adds the Spanish language.
    • Live Arcade gets five more.
    • Microsoft to start $10 Greatest Hits program.
    • Oblivion is done, all hail Oblivion.
    • What the heck is this Microsoft Origami project?
    • Another analysts predicts PS3 delay.
    • Rockstar Games serves up ... Table Tennis?
  • 00:30:37 SporeTalk: Spore to evolve onto handhelds? And when is a game "leak" really a "leak"?
  • 00:38:36 Game Preview: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion for the Xbox 360 and PC, part two.
  • 01:14:15 RetroReview: Planescape: Torment for the PC.
  • 01:26:55 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:30:32 Show Mail: I answer your text and Oblivion questions.
  • 01:58:03 Final Thoughts: What should I do next week for my one year anniversary show? And what to expect from my reports at the Game Developers Conference 2006 and I-Con appearances.
Download the show (124 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 41 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 4:00 PM | Comments (43) | Posted to Podcast | Preview | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!

February 27, 2006

Gaming Steve Episode 40 - 02.27.2006

The Elder Scrolls IV: OblivionThis week I provide the first part of my hands-on preview of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, I review a new game cut directly from the Star Control mold, retro-review the best Bungie game you have never played, answer your Oblivion questions, and so much more. Enjoy!

Gaming Steve Episode 40 Program

  • 00:04:08 Game News:
    • Merrill Lynch guesses at $800 PlayStation 3 cost and causes a mild panic.
    • EA slashes new game prices by 20 percent.
    • Infinium opens their books.
    • Ex-Gizmondo Exec trashes a million dollar Ferrari.
    • Condemned to storm PCs this April.
    • Classic Sierra games set for re-release.
    • DS Lite to wear only white at launch.
  • 00:27:44 SporeTalk: An overview as to how the download and ranking system will function.
  • 00:32:22 Game Preview: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion for the Xbox 360 and PC, part one.
  • 01:12:45 Game Review: Space Rangers 2: Rise of the Dominators for the PC.
  • 01:26:07 RetroReview: Pathways into Darkness Macintosh.
  • 01:35:17 “Name That Game!” contest winner from last week, a new clip, and a very cool prize!
  • 01:38:10 Show Mail: I answer your audio questions.
  • 01:57:03 Final Thoughts: So when can I scratch my Oblivion itch again?
Download the show (122 minutes): Gaming Steve Episode 40 (MP3).

Subscribe to the Podcast directly in iTunes (MP3).
Add the Gaming Steve Podcast feed to your RSS aggregator.
Vote for Gaming Steve on Podcast Alley.

Posted by Gaming Steve at 4:00 PM | Posted to Podcast | Preview | Review | Spore |  Add this story to del.icio.us  Stumble It!  Submit this story to Digg!